United States History: Women's History
Featured Primary Source
From the Salem Witch Trials: Documentary Archive and Transcription Project
at the University of Virginia.
Women's Magazines
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
American & Canadian women's magazines including Essence 1970-2000, Good Housekeeping 1885-2005, Chatelaine 1928-2005 and more
Contents:
- Better Homes and Gardens, Sep 1925 - Aug 1978
- Chatelaine (Toronto), Mar 1928 - Dec 2005
- Cosmopolitan, Jan 1965 - Dec 1993
- Essence, Jul 1970 - Dec 2000
- Good Housekeeping, May 1885 - Dec 2005
- Ladies Home Journal, Dec 1885 - Dec 2005
- Parents, Jan 1949 - Dec. 2005
- Redbook, Nov 1903 - April 2005
- Seventeen, Jan 1970 - Dec 2005
- WIN News [Women's International Network], Jun 1975 - October 1985
- Woman's Day, Oct 1937 - Dec 2005
- Vogue Archive 1892-
- This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources: General Collections
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including children’s and women’s magazines. - Early American Imprints, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials. Covers materials printed through the early 1900s. - Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American magazine articles published between 1890 and 1982.
- Women and Social MovementsPrimary sources in women's history from 1600-2000.
Primary Sources: Specific Topics
- American Radicalism CollectionMicrofilm collection (TAC 459) that includes (Part 3) pamphlets, leaflets, newspaper clippings, and correspondence on "race, gender, and the struggle for justice and equal rights." Some images from the collection available online.
For more primary sources and collections (online or on microfilm), link to History: Women, a subject guide created by Theresa Mudrock for the Seattle campus. For historic newspaper sources, see Seattle campus guide to News Articles.
- Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook ProjectCollection of historic cookbooks mostly from the 19th century.
- Hearth: Home Economics ArchivesCore collection of books and journals published between 1850 and 1950 in Home Economics.
- North American Women's Letters and DiariesTranscriptions of letters and diaries. Most previously published.
- Rosie the Riveter WWII American Homefront ProjectOral history interviews with women who worked in the defense industry in the San Francisco area during WWII.
- Salem Witch TrialsConsists of an electronic collection of primary source materials relating to the Salem witch trials of 1692 and a new transcription of the court records.
- Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the US and UK, 1815-1914Includes American, British, and Irish cases involving domestic violence, bigamy, seduction, breach of promise to marry, and the custody of children, as well as trials for murder and rape from 1815-1914.
- Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull House and Its Neighborhoods, 1889-1963Images and historical documentation on the development and history of Hull House.
- Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Women Suffrage Association CollectionConsists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign 1848-1921.
- Washington Women's History ConsortiumConsortium dedicated to preserving and making available resources about Washington women's history.
- Women Physicians: 1850s -1970sConsists of correspondence, scrapbooks, clippings, college records, images, diaries, publications and ephemera documenting the history of women physicians.
- Women WorkingExplores women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.