Research Guides
JSIS 495: Task Force - Winter 2015: Task Force C
This guide is for the students in JSIS 495 to help guide them in their research for their capstone projects.
Rethinking Large-Scale Ocean Conservation: Social and Environmental Benefits and Challenges
Patrick Christie & Todd Stevenson MW 12:30-2:20 PAR 206
Philanthropists, environmental organizations, and some governments have established large ocean areas (>100,000 km2) off limits to fishing and other extractive activities. Students will review the profound environmental and social outcomes, including impacts on vulnerable populations, food security, and ocean governance. A representative of Pew Charitable Trusts will review the report.
Research Databases
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Broad subject areas include oceanography, marine policy, fisheries, marine protected areas. Document types include journal articles, government documents and other reports, books, conference proceedings and trade journals. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar.
- PAIS
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations and selected masters theses from 1861 to the present; includes 2 million+ full text dissertations published since 1997. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Agencies & Organizations
- Big OceanA peer-learning network created ‘by managers for managers’ of large-scale marine areas. Focus is on best practices in management of MPAs.
Background, Country Information and Data
- Australian Government: Commonwealth Marine ReservesThis site includes maps, scientific data and information, social and economic assessments, and more of the network of marine reserves in Australia.
- California Department of Fish and Wildlife: California Marine Protected Areas (MPAs)Information about planning and managing California MPAs, regulations and enforcement, and maps.
- Canada National Marine Conservation Areas ActLaw relating to the establishment and enforcement of marine conservation areas in Canada.
- Chagos Conservation TrustOn April 1 2010, the British Government announced the creation of the Chagos Marine Reserve. Chagos is considered as British Indian Ocean Territory.
- Data & Analysis: National Marine Protected Areas Center, NOAAThe MPA Center collects, analyzes and maps data on dexiting US MPAs and human uses of the ocean. This site includes the MPA Inventory, Defacto MPAs, Maps and more.
- data.govdata.gov is the US government's open data Web site. Suggested searches here include: "marine protected areas" and "marine reserves".
- Europa World Plus Series
- This link opens in a new window
A publication in the Europa World Plus series Regional Surveys of the World, this annual overview provides general background on the region and together with specialized expert essays. - FAO Technical Papers on Marine Protected AreasFull-text of these FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Technical Papers is available on this Web site:
1. Marine protected areas - Country case studies on policy, governance and institutional issues: Japan, Mauritania, the Philippines, Samoa. No. T556/2
2. Marine protected areas: country case studies on policy, governance and institutional issues. No. T556/1
3. Governance of marine protected areas in least-developed countries. Case studies. No. T548 - Index MundiIncludes country profiles, detailed country statistics, charts, and maps compiled from multiple sources
- Marine Protected Areas: World BankPercentage of nations' territorial waters that have been reserved by law or other effective means to protect part or all of the enclosed environment.
- Marine Reserves CoalitionThe Marine Reserves Coalition brings together five UK-based organizations working together to secure the designation of marine reserves.
- OECD Economic Surveys [UW restricted]
- This link opens in a new window
A concise triennial analysis of the state of the economy, listed by individual countries and conducted by experts at the European Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Includes statistics. - OECD libraryIn addition to the Country Reports listed directly above, includes general reports, such as Economic Policy Reports, Energy Reports, etc. Also includes statistics and data sets.
- Parks Canada, National Marine Conservation Areas of CanadaInformation about the four marine conservation areas administered by Parks Canada.
- Philippines Protected Areas DatabaseThe database includes both marine and terrestrial protected areas. Search by keyword "marine" to retrieve a list of 80 marine parks and sanctuaries. The parent Web page, Biodiversity Management Bureau, includes information about programs, laws and policies, and publications.
- World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency)
- This link opens in a new window
Produced the the CIA, the World Factbook provides concise overviews of the history, geography, demography, economy, internal political issues and principal international disputes of every country.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian!
Louise Richards
Fisheries/Oceanography/Marine Sciences Librarian
machung@uw.edu
Kathleen Collins
Sociology Librarian
collinsk@uw.edu
Writing Focus: Strategic Plans
- NGO management : the Earthscan companionAuthor: Alan Fowler; Chiku Watchman Malunga; Earthscan.
Publisher: London ; Washington, DC : Earthscan, 2010.
Library and Call Number
Odegaard Undergraduate Library Stacks HD62.6 .N52 2010
UW Tacoma Library Nonprofit Resource HD62.6 .N52 2010
Focus on Films
- Environmental Studies in Video
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies in Video from Alexander Street Press covers all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. Films were produced from 1970 to the present, and address specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
Student Survey
We use student feedback to reassess the Task Force research workshops each year. Please take 5 minutes of your time to fill out a quick survey: