Urban Design and Planning (UrDP): Images & Drawings

Use the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Catalogue to find specific buildings in articles and some books. RIBA is the primary British professional organization for architects and it maintains a comprehensive library.

Use HABS to find floor plans, photographs and other documents on well-known American buildings of all periods. Buildings in HABS will often be early vernacular landmarks and works by well-known architects.

This database searches architectural drawings held by Special Collections focusing on the architecture and architectural firms of the Pacific Northwest.

Most building records and documents are available online through the Facilities Information Library, except for a small portion of project manuals still in paper format and documents in microfiche and microfilm formats available for viewing at our office. (Requires UW NetID)

The Facilities Services Design Guide is for the use of design professionals to facilitate design and construction of University facilities.

Near the top of this page, you should see a header that includes a dropdown menu and three links. Use the Public Maps dropdown to view maps that Facilities Services makes available to the public.

Facilities Services Records provides a number of options for processing and delivering facility/building documents including some scanning/digitization ad CAD files (for a fee).

The BE VRC consists of approximately 90,000 digital images and 130,000 circulating 35mm slides, representing the worlds of architecture and related fields, design, and art history.

The SoAAD VRC collection includes images relating to art, design, and architecture for student use.

Special Collections in the basement of Allen Library, has a wealth of photos on architecture, such as the Dearborn-Massar Collection of mid-century Seattle architecture. It has many others.

The UW Image Bank is an extensive collection of high-quality images of art, architecture, and cultural and historical materials. The Image Bank includes images of cultural production from diverse world cultures, time periods, sites, and cultural institutions, and covers most major monuments of world art and architectural history.

Archive of digital images with accompanying educational materials, built around the villa, an important landscape type in garden history. Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

This City of Seattle repository has photos and documents about city sites.

The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.

Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over 750,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. The collections on Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.