Skip to main content
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Collaborators and Networking: Collaborators & Networking

Suggested Tools for Finding Collaborators & Networking

  Contact your librarian  or the author of this guide for assistance.

Institutional Research Networking Resource: DIRECT2Experts

DIRECT2Experts

  • Interface for searching institutional research networking databases from over 70 institutions.
  • Type an area of expertise and connect to faculty profiles that include appointments, publications, research interests, and grants. 

                                   

Voluntary Research Networking: Create and Search Professional Profiles

ResearcherID                             

ResearcherID from Thomson Reuters lets any author build a profile and add it to a searchable database.

  • Search for your publications in Web of Science or import them from EndNote.
  • Add keywords to describe your research interests and expertise.
  • Add your ORCID (researcher ID) if desired.
  • Generate citation metrics for your publications.

Google Scholar                                             

Google Scholar offers a tool to create a free Scholar Profile.

  • List your publications and describe your areas of expertise.
  • Include your position and email if desired.
  • Receive updates when your papers are cited.
  • When someone searches for your name on Google Scholar, your Scholar Profile will be the top result.

ResearchGate                                  

ResearchGate is a free networking site open to all scientists. 

  • Create a free profile and list your publications.
  • Describe your areas of expertise.
  • Add your ORCID (researcher ID) if desired.
  • Participate in discussion forums.
  • Get statistics on how frequently other people view or download your publications.

Mentoring Resources

Literature Search Tip: Finding Prolific Authors in a Field

Scopus

Scopus is a very large multi-disciplinary database with helpful analysis tools. 

  • Search for a topic, and then analyze the results to see a ranked list of the authors who have published the most articles on that subject.
  • From the search results page, click on "Analyze Results" to create a chart like the one below. 
  • Use the author links to the right of the chart to quickly scan articles written by those individual authors.
 

 

Search Tip: Find Authors by Their Institution or Location

Author Affiliation Searches

PubMed

Search the biomedical literature in PubMed for authors' institutions or location in the [AD], or Author Affiliation (Address), field. 

Find people in a particular location who have published on the topic you're interested in.

Note: Prior to October 2013, only the first author's address is searchable.  For records added since October 2013, ALL author addresses from the front page of the article are searchable.

"Pancreatic Neoplasms"[Mesh] AND seattle[AD]

Proteomics AND "university of washington"[AD]


Scopus

The multidisciplinary database Scopus lets you search for author affiliations in three ways:

  • Affiliation Name, e.g., fred hutchinson cancer research center
  • Affiliation City, e.g., Seattle
  • Affiliation Country, e.g., Kenya

Web of Science

To find author affiliations in the multidisciplinary database Web of Science, search the "Address" field.

From the "Basic Search" screen, search for your topic.  Then "Add Another Field" and choose "Address" from the drop-down menu. 

Team Science

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms