It is difficult for a clinician to analyze all the information in a field.
Resources such as UpToDate and Clinical Evidence offer summaries of evidence-based information on a topic.
Locate summaries using:
The most current, extensive electronic textbook for medicine. Recommendations are based on the available evidence and the author's clinical experience. Continuously updated, not by any specific time schedule.
BMJ Best Practice
Updated compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions. Summarizes the best available evidence and the current state of knowledge, including knowns and unknowns, based on thorough searches. Categorizes interventions as beneficial, likely beneficial, no known benefit, harmful, etc. Covers more than 260 conditions.
Provides the evidence to help clinicians make patient care decisions. Updated daily and covers over 3,500 topics.
Clinical reference library includes guidelines, images, drug information, and patient handouts.
Essential Evidence Plus
Includes Essential Evidence Topics, POEMs (summaries on recent research from a defined set of journals that address questions clinicians face using measures of symptoms, morbidity, quality of life, and mortality outcomes), EBM Guidelines, and more.
ACP Journal Club
Value-added abstracts to research and systematic review journal articles selected according to explicit criteria from over 100 major peer-reviewed medical journals. Covers broad range of topics on the care of adults and adolescents.
1994-. Short evaluations of individual articles dealing with evidence-based clinical practice.
Evidence Based Nursing
Summarizes research articles from international clinical journals with value-added abstracts including comments on methodology, preceding research, and recommendations for clinical practice. Published quarterly.
FPIN Clinical Inquiries
Family Practice Inquiry Network's evidence answers to questions posed by primary care physicians, published in Journal of Family Practice and American Family Physician.
Provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.