Finding Full Text Articles
Short video showing how to access full text journal articles.
Systematic Searching
- Guide to Systematic ReviewsIncludes tools and advice for conducting systematic literature reviews, including formulating effective search strategies and managing search results
- PubMed at the UWGuide to effective PubMed searching
- Database Searching ResourcesAdditional help searching specific databases, and guides to special topics such as Finding Qualitative Research Articles
Public Health & Research Services Librarian
Library Resources Overview
Health Sciences Library - hsl.uw.edu
Gain access to recommended databases, electronic journals & books, and help guides. Follow UW purple icons to full text articles, from PubMed and other databases. Important: Link to PubMed from the HSL website to see UW article icons.
Order pdfs of articles that UW doesn't own, through the UW Libraries article scan service.
- Connect to library resources from off-campusLog in with your NetID to the off-campus proxy service
Journal Article Databases
Biomedical sciences and public health
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. - EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical journals and conference proceedings - Global Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global public health research and practice, including abstracts of journals, reports, books and conferences.
Multidisciplinary databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Subject Speciality Databases
Some of these contain non-journal literature as well as journal articles.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane controlled trials register (CCTR); and Cochrane review methodology database (CRMD). - Global Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global public health research and practice, including abstracts of journals, reports, books and conferences. - PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present.
To discover additional databases by subject area, see HSL Toolkits on the HSL website including:
- Public Health
- Health Services
- Environmental & Occupational Health
- Global Health
- Food Systems, Nutrition, and Health
- Social Work
- Care Provider
and visit the UW Libraries Research Guides for key resources in Business, Environment, Public Policy, Engineering, and other areas.
