Quick Database Tips
✽ When exploring opportunities for funding, try:
- Databases of active funding opportunities (such as GrantSelect
or Grants.gov); - Databases of foundation profiles (such as Foundation Directory );
- Databases of awarded grants (such as NIH RePORTER, GrantSelect, or Federal Reporter).
✽ Databases of awarded grants, such as NIH RePORTER, GrantSelect, or Federal Reporter can help you:
- Find examples of successfully funded projects in your field. Search by topic keyword or Principal Investigator name.
- See the types of research funded by a particular funding body (foundation, agency, association).
Funding Opportunity Databases - Biomedical Focus
- Fogarty International Center: International Grants & Fellowships✽ Global Health Research funding opportunities
✽ International grants and fellowships in biomedical and behavioral research
✽ The Fogarty International Center is the international component of the NIH, but funding opportunities are not from NIH. - National Institutes of Health (NIH) Guide for Grants and Contracts✽ Policies, guidelines, and funding opportunities for NIH medical and behavioral research grants
✽ Set up alerts to be notified of new notices or funding opportunities on a specific topic or mentioning a specific word/phrase. - National Institutes of Health (NIH) Common Fund Research Funding✽Funding for cross-cutting, trans-NIH programs that require participation by at least two NIH Institutes or Centers
✽ Includes High-Risk Research - NCATS (NIH) Small Business Opportunities✽ Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) Opportunities
✽ Programs to help small businesses develop and commercialize new transitional technologies - OppNet: Basic Behavioral and Social Science Opportunity Network✽ Basic behavioral and social science research funding from the NIH
- Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) Funding Opportunities✽ Patient-centered outcomes research offered by an independent nonprofit, nongovernmental organization.
Funding Opportunity Databases - Multidisciplinary
- Foundation Directory
This link opens in a new window
Use this newly-licensed database to find information about foundations, their funding priorities, and grant recipients.
You can search by subject (animal therapy), the population to be served (people with physical disabilities), and/or geographic area (King County, WA). - Grants.govGrant opportunities from 26 US federal agencies
Can submit grant applications via Grants.gov if become a registered user.
Set up email notifications about grant opportunities from specific sub-agencies or specified Funding Opportunity Numbers (FONs), but not specific words or phrases. - GrantSelect
- This link opens in a new window
Funding opportunities from more than 5,100 sponsoring organizations. - National Science Foundation (NSF): Find FundingNSF Funding opportunities and grant information.
Includes support for undergraduates, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and those interested in interdisciplinary research. - Proposal CentralSmall number of funding opportunities primarily from associations and foundations.
Awarded Grants Databases
- Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs AwardsDepartment of Defense database of funded research abstracts
- Federal RePORTERNew database of scientific awards from federal agencies
Award data from Veterans Affairs, National Science Foundation, Department of Agriculture, Department of Defense, Department of Education, Environmental Protection Agency, NASA, and Health & Human Services.
Search interface is similar to NIH RePORTER. - GrantSelect
- This link opens in a new window
Funding opportunities from more than 5,100 sponsoring organizations. - Grants On-Line Database (GOLD) - AHRQAgency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) grants & contracts database
Search by keyword, state, project area, or focus area, e.g., comparative effectiveness or patient-centered health research. - National Science Foundation (NSF) Award SearchSearch for active and expired awards from NSF.
Search for keywords in titles and abstracts of awards.
Use "Advanced Search" to find awards by institution, principal investigator, program officer, or keyword. - NIH RePORTER (National Institutes of Health)Information on research projects funded by the NIH, CDC, AHRQ, HRSA, SAMHSA, and VA.
Search for keywords in titles and abstracts of awards.
✽ Search by institution, principal investigator, study section, etc.
Find active grants and expired grants back to FY 1992.
Grant information includes associated articles, U.S. patents, news, and ClinicalTrials.gov IDs.
