I'm happy to help you with things such as:

• Research Strategies and Database Searching
• Literature Reviews
• Current Awareness Alerts
• Citation Managers Like EndNote
• Tracking Down Difficult-to-Find Information or Publications

Diana Louden

HEALTH SCIENCES LIBRARY WEBSITE

• Recommended databases, electronic journals & books, help guides, upcoming training opportunities.

BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES TOOLKIT

• Recommended resources for journal articles, lab protocols, genetic information, funding, and other research tools.

OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS

• When off-campus, use the HSL link to PubMed!  You will be prompted to log in with your UW NetID, and you'll see links to journal articles we subscribe to.
• Consider setting up Husky OnNet for off-campus access.  Select the server for all internet traffic to easily access UW-restricted resources.

FULL-TEXT ARTICLES                         

• First look for a purple "UW Article Online" icon.  If there isn't one, click on the UW "Check for Full Text" icon.  If it doesn't lead you to the publication you need, request a copy from the library.  The library will obtain it for you at no cost.
• Customize PubMed to show UW full-text links by modifying settings in your My NCBI account.
• Customize Google Scholar to show UW full-text links by modifying settings in your Google account.

MATCHING YOUR QUESTION TO A LITERATURE DATABASE

• Biomedical research articles?  Try PubMed.   [PubMed help guide]  [PubMed search tips handout]
• Articles or conference abstracts on drugs in development?  Try Embase.
• Citation chasing - determining who cited this paper or which papers are highly cited?  Try Scopus.  [Scopus help guide] or Google Scholar.

RESEARCH COMMONS

• Get help with writing, designing presentations, finding funding, and using citation managers.
• Participate in Scholars' Studio and practice giving a 5-minute presentation for your peers.
• Stay current with Research Commons events.