What's in this guide
This guide lists Health Sciences Library resources that can help medicine residents with scholarly projects. The guide links directly to research resources, as well as other help guides designed to assist you in finding references, creating citations and publishing your results. Links with a lock icon require UWNetID login.
Click on the tabs at the top of this page to see additional help pages:
Copyright, Submission and Publication Help
Database Resources Help
- Embase
This link opens in a new window
- My NCBIA guide to the use of PubMed's My NCBI from Health Sciences librarians
- PubMed at the UWA guide to the use of PubMed from Health Sciences librarians
Department of Medicine Recommendations
Articles offering advice on how to write for publication or presentation:
- Case reports in respiratory care.Pierson DJ. Case reports in respiratory care. Respir Care. 2004;49(10):1186-1194.
- How to write an abstract that will be accepted for presentation at a national meeting.Pierson DJ. How to write an abstract that will be accepted for presentation at a national meeting. Respir Care. 2004;49(10):1206-1212.
Database Reference Resources
For information about and links to many other databases, in addition to those described below.
- BIOSIS Previews
- This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of biological sciences, including microbiology and model organisms, plus a good source of meeting abstracts. - EMBASE
- This link opens in a new window
(Elsevier) EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological database indexing 7500 journals from over 70 countries, and over 260,000 conference abstracts. - PubMedMEDLINE
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, with searchable cited references.
Additional Reference Resources
Informational guides created by HSL and UW librarians to assist in your scholarly work:
- Data Resources in the Health SciencesAn introduction to the world of data in the health sciences field.
- Dissertations and ThesesA guide for locating dissertations and master's theses at the UW and elsewhere.
- Grey LiteratureA guide for locating grey literature, generally considered material not published commercially or indexed by major databases, at the UW and elsewhere.
- Measurement Tools/Research InstrumentsAn instructional guide for locating measurement tools for researchers and practitioners.
- Qualitative Research ArticlesA guide for getting started finding articles
- Statistics Sources: Health SciencesSources for statistics and data in the health sciences field.
- Translational Researcher ToolsA list of commonly used resources for conducting research
