Skip to main content
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Scopus

A database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

What is Scopus?

Scopus is a huge multidisciplinary database with citations and abstracts from peer-reviewed journal literature, trade journals, books, patent records, and conference publications.  It provides tools for tracking, analyzing, and visualizing search results.

  • Over 21,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
  • Contains >60 million records, with the most thorough coverage from 1996 forward.
  • Includes over 6.4 million conference papers from proceedings and journals.
  • Provides 100% Medline coverage.  (Medline comprises the majority of the content in PubMed.)
  • Updated daily

Why use Scopus?

1. Search for:

  • Scientific and scholarly articles on a wide range of topics
  • Citations of articles (from 1996-)
  • Citation score of authors (e.g., H-index)

2. Set up alerts to track future articles:

  • On a specific topic
  • By a specific author
  • That cite an article of interest
  • That cite any article by a specific author

3. Analyze data (primarily from 1996 forward)

  • Information on author, article, and journal rankings.
  • Analyze a set of references by institutional affiliation of authors.

What does Scopus mean?

Hamerkop standing in a stream in Zambia, Thumbnail for version as of 15:27, 25 November 2012

The name, Scopus, was inspired by the bird, Hamerkop (Scopus umbretta), which supposedly has excellent navigation skills. [Burnham JF. Scopus database: a review. Biomed Digit Libr. 2006 Mar 8;3:1. doi:10.1186/1742-5581-3-1]

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms