Skip to main content

Civil Procedure

Treatises

Many more treatises—often focused on litigation in one practice area or jurisdiction—are available on Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, and Westlaw.

Study Aids and Hornbooks

Forms

AmJur Pleading and Practice Forms, 1967-date. 70+ vols. 
Reference Area at KF8836.A45 & Westlaw
Commentary and guidelines. Covers notices, complaints, petitions, declarations, summonses, demurrers, answers, counterclaims, cross-complaints, interrogatories, replies, motions, affidavits, stipulations, bills of particulars, subpoenas, orders, writs, jury instructions, findings of fact, judgments, bonds, decrees, and more.

Federal Procedural Forms, 1975-date. 30+ vols. 
Reference Area at KF8836.F4 & Westlaw
Offers procedural checklists and drafting guidelines.

Moore's Manual: Federal Practice Forms, 1964-2002. 7 looseleaf vols.
Reference Area at KF8836.M66 & Lexis

Westlaw: FORMS-ALL
Contains forms from more than 50 treatises and forms collections (including AmJur Pleading and Practice Forms, Federal Procedural Forms, andWest's Federal Forms) and state-specific forms (including Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Wisconsin).

West's Federal Forms, 1952-date. 22 vols. 
Compact Stacks at KF8836.W3) (print subscription canceled in 2009) & Westlaw: FEDFORMS 
Arranged by rule numbers. Companion to Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure.

LexisNexis

  • Bender's Federal Practice Forms
  • Manual of Federal Practice: Forms

Westlaw

  • Nichol's Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure Forms: NCFPF
    A "comprehensive array of federal pleading and practice forms, accompanied by a concise treatment of the latest relevant federal law."

Other Practice Tools

AmJur Proof of Facts, 1st, 2d, and 3d series. 1959-date. 150+ vols. 
Reference Area at KF8933.A42 & Westlaw 
Provides expert advice on a wide range of civil actions. Covers preparing the case and determining the facts. Includes strategies, tactics, practice tips, checklists, sample interrogatories, model discovery forms, sample proofs, and diagrams.

Bender's Forms of Discovery, 1963-date. 33 looseleaf vols. 
Reference Area at KF8900.A3 B4 & Lexis 
A vast collection of interrogatories, arranged by topic, and a treatise. Index to interrogatories appears in vol. 10A.

Pattern Discovery: Premises Liability, 3d ed. 1994-96. 3 vols. 
Classified Stacks at KF8900.D327 1994 & Westlaw

Pattern Discovery: Products Liability, 3d ed. 1995-97. 2 vols. 
Classified Stacks at KF8900.D328 1995

Search the Gallagher Law Library catalog for additional titles by subject headings, such as Depositions--United States.

Jury Instructions

These sets contain instructions for a wide variety of topics.

Federal Jury Practice and Instructions, 5th ed.  2000-date. 10 vols. 
Reference Area at KF8984.D4 2000 & Westlaw

Manual of Model Civil Jury Instructions for the Ninth Circuit
Reference Area at KF8984.A65M37 (latest ed.), Classified Stacks at KF8984.A65M37 (earlier eds.), 9th Circuit website & Westlaw

Westlaw

  • JI-ALL, "all state and federal published, pattern, standard or model civil and criminal jury instructions available on Westlaw.
  • JIF-ALL, "contains the text of actual jury instructions submitted and filed in selected state and federal courts."

Some jury instructions are designed for certain types of cases.

Model Jury Instructions: Patent Litigation, 2005. Table of contents
Classified Stacks at KF8984.A65 P38 2005

Model Jury Instructions: Business Torts Litigation, 4th ed. 2005.
Classified Stacks at KF8984.A65 A5 2005

Model Jury Instructions for Fidelity Cases, 2003. 
Classified Stacks at KF1223 .M63 2003

Model Jury Instructions for Surety Cases, 2000. 
Classified Stacks at KF1045.A65 M63 2000 & Westlaw: ABA-JI-SUR

Sample Jury Instructions in Civil Antitrust Cases, 1999. 
Classified Stacks at KF1657.J8S26 1999

Model Jury Instructions: Securities Litigation, 1996. 
Classified Stacks at KF8984 .M64 1996

Sample Civil RICO Jury Instructions, 1994. 
Reference Area at KF9375.Z9S26 1994

Search the Gallagher Law Library catalog for additional titles by subject heading: Instructions to Juries--United States--Forms.

LexisNexis

  • Jury Instructions in Automobile Actions
  • Jury Instructions in Commercial Litigation
  • Jury Instructions on Damages in Tort Actions
  • Jury Instructions on Medical Issues
  • Jury Instructions on Products Liability
  • Modern Federal Jury Instructions-Civil

See also LLRX, Revisiting Jury Instructions, which lists publications of statewide jury instructions.