Skip to main content

Indian & Tribal Law

Resources for researching federal Indian law and Native American tribal law.

Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law

Previous editions

Restatement Project

ALI logoThe American Law Institute is developing a Restatement on the law of American Indians.

This Restatement will cement the foundational principles of American Indian law. Topics include federal/tribal relations, state/tribal relations, tribal jurisdiction and authority, and Indian Country business law.

This project is projected to include five Chapters. Chapter 1 (Federal–Tribal Relations) is partially approved; §§ 1 through 9 were approved at the 2015 Annual Meeting. The remaining Section of Chapter 1 and portions of Chapter 2 (Tribal Authority) and Chapter 4 (Tribal Economic Development) are drafted, but have not yet been approved. The remaining Chapters will be Tribal–State Relations and Indian Country Criminal Jurisdiction.

Discussion Drafts and Tentative drafts are available:

Other Books

Journal Articles

HeinOnline's American Indian Law Collection (UW restricted) includes hundreds of law journal articles, curated by the editors to be about Indian law.

For more law journal articles, seach full-text databases in Lexis Advance, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law, or HeinOnline. Note that HeinOnline has much greater historical coverage. Bloomberg Law's coverage is briefer than Westlaw's or Lexis's.

For articles from history, sociology, economics, anthropology, or any other discipline that touches on Indian law, use UW Libraries Articles & Research Databases. To find relevant databases, start with UW Libraries Research Guides.

Specialized Journals

Any law review can have an article about Indian or tribal law. The following journals specialize in the area.

Historic Books & Reports

Continuing Legal Education Materials

The University of Washington School of Law hosts the annual Western Regional Indian Law Symposium. The printed CLE materials are found at KF8224.C6W47 at Classified Stacks & Reference Area Microfiche. Indexes to the materials cover statutes, cases, tribes, and subjects discussed.

Ralph W. Johnson Bibliography

University of Washington Law School professor Ralph Johnson was a noted Indian law scholar and advocate. He founded the UW's Native American Law Center. A bibliography of his publications is here. A profile by David W. Getches is at 72 Wash. L. Rev. 995 (1997), available on HeinOnline (UW Restricted).