Skip to main content

Reference Librarian Consultations

Ways to Get Help from a Research Services Librarian

  • Drop by the Reference Office whenever it's open. No appointment necessary!
  • Call the Reference Office whenever it's open: 206-543-6794.
  • Email the Reference Office: lawref@uw.edu.
    • This email address is only for UW Law faculty, staff, and students.
    • People outside UW Law should use the Ask Us! form.
  • Make an appointment with a librarian to meet outside the Reference Office (generally in the librarian's own office).

Making Appointments

To make an appointment, send an email message to a librarian, saying what you'd like help with and suggesting possible times.

Some librarians are generalists, available to talk to you about anything from basic legal research to Bluebooking to interdisciplinary research. Other librarians have duties in other departments and so prefer to limit their appointments to a few specialized topics. See the list below.

Generalists (any topic):

Librarian Availability Office
Anna Endter
aendter@uw.edu
Generally available M-F, mornings and early afternoons. Email for appointment. L156
Mary Whisner
whisner@uw.edu
Generally available M-F. Weekend and evening appointments are possible (with notice). Email for appointment L152
Maya Swanes
mswanes@uw.edu
Generally available M-F, mornings and early afternoons. Email for appointment. L156
Crystal Alberthal
calberth@uw.edu
Generally available M-F, mornings and afternoons. Email for appointment. L133

Specialists (limited topics):

Librarian Topics Availability Office
Jonathan Franklin
jafrank@uw.edu
Intellectual property; indigenous rights (non-US); art law; technology law Email for appointment. L168
Peggy Jarrett
pjarrett@uw.edu
Legislative and regulatory topics; government information (federal, state, international) Email for appointment. L154
Alena Wolotira
alenaw@uw.edu
Bluebooking, legislative history Email for appointment. L172 (ask at Circulation Desk)

East Asian Law Department
See East Asian Legal Research at UW: the Basics.

Rob Britt
rrbritt@uw.edu
Chinese, Japanese, and Korean law Email for appointment               
or call 543-7447.
L138