Skip to main content

Staying Current

Resources for keeping up with new legal developments.

CILP

CILP logo

Produced by the Gallagher Law Library, the Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) is a weekly index of recently received law reviews. This timely service provides subject access to new articles weeks before commercial periodical indexes. CILP often indexes articles before they are loaded on LexisNexis or Westlaw.

 

CILP also includes law review tables of content and links to LexisNexis and Westlaw searches designed to retrieve the indexed articles.

Note: CILP and SmartCILP are sold as subscriptions to other law schools, law firms, and others. Please do not forward CILP or SmartCILP to other parties.

SmartCILP

SmartCILP is the electronic, customizable version of CILP. It allows a subscriber to select only those subjects and law review table of contents in which he or she is interested. SmartCILP is delivered directly to the user's email inbox.

UW Law School Faculty, Staff, and Students Only
To create your SmartCILP profile:

  1. Get an authorization code from the Reference Office.
  2. Go to the SmartCILP User Profile page.
  3. Fill in your name, email address, affiliation (University of Washington), and authorization code.
  4. Mark your selections by clicking in the boxes to the left of any of the following items:
    • Topic Headings (clusters of subjects)
    • individual Subject Headings
    • individual Journal Titles
  5. Complete the process by clicking on the Next button and then the Accept button.

You can edit your user profile or unsubscribe at any time by filling out the form again (to unsubscribe simply deselect your choices).

Note: CILP and SmartCILP are sold as subscriptions to other law schools, law firms, and others. We need those subscriptions to keep the operation running. Please do not share the access code or forward CILP or SmartCILP outside UW Law.

SSRN

SSRN logoThe Social Science Research Network (SSRN) includes abstracts and working papers organized by field - including the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN), which "distributes quality research related to law, economics, and business in 61 different subject areas." Legal issues may also be addressed in papers in the Entrepreneurship Research & Policy Network, the Negotiations Research Network, the Political Science Network, or the Social & Environmental Impact Network.

Search or browse the collection of more than 625,000 abstracts (over half a million available in full text) for free. Most documents are also freely available to download. Users may also subscribe.

See SSRN guide.

Digital Commons Network

Law Commons logoThe Digital Commons Network from bepress "brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide." The Law Commons has over 247,000 papers. You can search the site or browse topics (e.g., Civil Procedure or Civil Rights and Discrimination).

If you create a free account, you can follow a topic, an author, or an institution to get email updates.

JOTWELL

JOTWELL logoJOTWELL (the Journal of Things We Like (Lots)) is a blog where law professors review interesting books and articles. It is meant to create "a space where legal academics can go to identify, celebrate, and discuss the best new scholarship relevant to the law."

 

Users can subscribe (free) to all of JOTWELL or to one or more of its topical collections (Administrative Law, Classics, Constitutional Law, Corporate Law, etc.).

Books

Library Catalog Saved Searches

After you run a search in the law library (or UW Libraries) catalog, you can save it to use again later. You can also set up an alert so you will get an email notification when something new satisfies the search.

Note: you must be logged in with your UW NetID. After you click "Save Current Search" you'll have the option to make it an alert.

screen snip showing search and option to save search

Periodical Indexes

Most periodical indexes enable you to save a search (to update later) or to set up an alert (to push new information to you). So, for example, if you are tracking a business topic in Business Source Complete, you can ask for new items to be sent to you ask they appear in the index.

Full-Text Databases

Westlaw, LexisNexis, HeinOnline, and Bloomberg Law all have databases with the full text of law journal articles. You can run a search and set up an alert to be notified when new articles with your search terms have been loaded.

HeinOnline Table of Contents Alert