Skip to main content

UW Restricted

Describes who has access to commercial databases to which the UW Libraries and/or the Gallagher Law Library subscribe

UW Restricted

The Gallagher Law Library and the University of Washington Libraries subscribe to many commercial databases and indexes. Access to most of these databases is restricted to:

  • students who are currently enrolled in University of Washington degree programs and extension classes
  • faculty and staff of the University of Washington
  • researchers who visit one of the University of Washington Libraries, including the Gallagher Law Library.

Throughout this website, links to or descriptions of such databases are marked [UW Restricted].

Members of the public might wish to contact librarians at your school, agency, business, or organization or at your local public library or county law library. You might have access to the same or a comparable source from another library. A list of county law libraries is available at Law Libraries in Washington State and the U.S

In addition, the Gallagher Law Library provides UW Law School faculty, students, and staff with IDs and passwords for using commercial legal databases Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw. Contracts with these vendors do not permit access by members of the University of Washington community or the public who are not affiliated with the School of Law. For more information, see Access to Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance & WestlawNext. However, the UW Libraries provides access to a version of LexisNexis called LexisNexis Academic, through the UW Libraries Research Databases page.

 

University of Washington School of Law Alumni

The Gallagher Law Library is open to the public and we welcome School of Law alumni to visit.

University of Washington Alumni

University of Washington alumni who are members of the Alumni Association have access to one of the UW Restricted databases: Academic Search Complete.

Please visit the Alumni Association page about this database for more information.