Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Arctic & Northern Studies
- Nunatsiavut (Newfoundland & Labrador)
Arctic & Northern Studies: Nunatsiavut (Newfoundland & Labrador)
American & Canadian Studies, European Studies, International Studies, Arctic, Canada, Canadian Studies, Northern Studies
Quick Context
Nunatsiavut is an Inuit regional government in the Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Nunatsiavut government has authority over many central governance areas including health, education, culture and language, justice, and community matters. Nunatsiavut was created in 2005 as part of the lands claim agreement between the Labrador Inuit, the Government of Canada, and the province of Newfoundland & Labrador.
- Nunatsiavut Regional GovernmentThe Nunatsiavut Regional Government administers the Labrador Inuit Settlement Area in Newfoundland and Labrador.
- Intergovernmental and Indigenous Affairs SecretariatNewfoundland & Labrador Provincial Government’s secretariat unifying efforts to build intergovernmental relations with efforts to advance relationships with Indigenous Governments and Organizations.
- Labrador Affairs SecretariatNewfoundland's Labrador Affairs Secretariat focuses on the socioeconomic and social development of Labrador, including Nunatsiavut
- A Northern Strategic Plan for Labrador (2006- )The Northern Strategic Plan is Newfoundland & Labrador's five year plan for Labrador.
Government documents
- Land claims agreements for NunatsiavutLinks to the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement, including maps.
Recommended books @ UW Libraries
The UW Libraries has several resources dealing with Nunatsiavut. Selected titles are listed below; additional books can be found by searching for nunatsiavut in UW Libraries Search.
Books, Media, Newspapers
- Making a living : place, food, and economy in an Inuit communityPrint book discusses the experiences of an Inuit community as it strives to retain the values rooted in life on the land while adjusting to the realities of life in settlements
- Northern exposure : peoples, powers and prospects in Canada's NorthPrint book with an interdisciplinary focus on the North. Includes a chapter on the creation of Nunatsiavut.
- Nunatsiaq NewsNewspaper of record for Nunavut and the Nunavik territory of Quebec, published since 1975.
- Settlement, subsistence, and change among the Labrador Inuit : the Nunatsiavummiut experiencePrint book explores the way of life and cultural survival of the Labrador Inuit, including: household structure, social economy of wildfood production, forced relocations and land claims, subsistence and settlement patterns, and contemporary issues around climate change, urban planning, and self-government
Article Indexes & Research Databases
- Arctic and Antarctic Regions This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other material on all aspects of the polar regions - Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of North America's aboriginal culture, history and life. Includes books, journals and government documents. Includes some links to full-text.
