Research Guides
Communication Studies: Debate
This subject guide is a starting point for communication-related research, including mass media, speech communication, and more.
UW Debate Union
Debate Club, University of Washington, ca. 1885
Background & Context
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports, summaries, and pro/con views on "hot topic" social issues, 1923-present. Each report includes background information, chronology of events, stakeholders, and statistics - all of which can give you names of people and agencies that you can use in further research.
Facts & Basic Stats
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
Social, political, and economic statistics of the United States. See this guide for additional (and free!) means of accessing Statistical Abstracts of the United States.
Research Guides
- Government PublicationsProvides access to publications and data produced by governmental and inter-governmental agencies at the international, national, state and local levels.
- Government Sources by SubjectCovers subjects ranging from Census, Education, and Environment, to Immigration, Laws, and Transportation. Resources are selected by UW Government Documents Librarians.
Web Search Tip: Site Specific Search
Use Google to limit your search (search within) a specific website by entering [site:url]. Examples:
- haiti AND "new media" AND site:.edu
- health AND africa AND site:pewinternet.org
- belize AND "new media" AND site:.gov
UW Library Databases
These library databases include scholarly journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. They are UW Restricted (
). UW students, faculty, and staff can log in with your UW NetID and password to access the databases from off campus.
The library databases provided by the same company (such as EBSCO) can be searched at the same time. This will save you time and usually provides more search results; however, the thesaurus terms/subjects/descriptors are specific to each database.
Multi-Disciplinary Databases (cover a lot of subjects):
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
- EBSCO DatabasesThis link searches across more than 65 databases from the EBSCO company, covering subjects including business, communication, education, history, medicine, psychology, and much more. Getting too many results? Search results taking too long to load? Click on "Choose Databases" and select the individual databases that you need to search.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Overview of contemporary social issues with relevant articles, videos, opposing views, and more - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.
Discipline-Specific Databases:
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education related scholarly articles and books. (EBSCO) - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education. - Left Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles by and about the political left, with an emphasis on economics, society, and culture. - Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News and scholarship on all branches of the military and government. (EBSCO) - Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles & books on philosophy. (EBSCO) - CQ.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative tracking and Capitol Hill news service from Congressional Quarterly, Inc., with plenty of unique content to explore. See the Congress research guide for more: http://guides.lib.uw.edu/c.php?g=341343&p=2303361 - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides daily updated information, including full text of bills starting in 1989, public laws starting in 1988, and much more. Enter search terms, then narrow results using the filters that appear in a box on the right.
Web Search TIp: Use Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find journal articles, conference papers, theses & dissertations, academic websites and more in all subjects. Be sure to set your Google Scholar Settings by clicking on the 
button near the top of the screen. Select Library Links on the left and make sure "University of Washington Libraries - Check for Full-Text @ UW" is checked. This will link your results to UW Libraries e-journals.