Skip to main content
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

Database Trials: Fall 2017

Why Database Trials?

UW students, staff and faculty have temporary access to databases that are on trial.
Because funding for these databases is limited we need your feedback to decide which databases are the most important for us to add to our collection. We are interested in if, and how, you would use these databases for your research and for your teaching. Please send your comments to the email address listed with each entry.
Access: All database trials are available on campus only unless otherwise noted.

Current Trials

American Periodicals 

  • Center for Research Libraries expansion module to the American Periodicals database
  • 19th and early 20th century American magazines
  • Trial available off campus to UW students, staff & faculty
  • Trial finished.
  • Send your comments to: Theresa Mudrock 


Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 

  • Digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States
  • Trial available off campus to UW students, staff & faculty
  • Trial ends Dec. 10
  • Send your comments to: Dani Rowland


Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 

  • Digital collection focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries
  • Trial available off campus to UW students, staff & faculty
  • Trial ends Dec. 10
  • Send your comments to: Dani Rowland


Bloomsbury Food Library

  • Collection of reference works & ebooks on food studies
  • Trial available on campus only
  • Trial ends Dec. 7
  • Send your comments to: Katie Monks 


Boston Globe 1872-1985

  • Historic newspaper
  • Trial available off campus to UW students, staff & faculty
  • Trial finished.
  • Send your comments to: Theresa Mudrock 


Loeb Classical Library

  • Standard collection of Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations
  • Trial available on campus only
  • Trial ends Dec. 10
  • Send your comments to: Linda DiBiase 


New York Tribune 1841-1962

  • Historic newspaper
  • Trial available off campus to UW students, staff & faculty
  • Trial finished.
  • Send your comments to: Theresa Mudrock 


Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive

  •  More than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide predominately covering the Holocaust but also coverage of Armenia, Rwanda and other places
  • Click on the "Continue as a guest" button to access the videos
  • Trial available on campus only
  • Trial finished.
  • Send your comments to: Theresa Mudrock 


Statista

  • Statistics portal covering consumer products, industries, internet, technology, and lifestyle
  • Trial available on campus only
  • Trial ends Nov. 30
  • Send your comments to: Jason Sokoloff


Time Magazine Archive 1923-2000

  • Cover to cover digitized issues
  • Trial available off campus to UW students, staff & faculty
  • Trial finished
  • Send your comments to: Theresa Mudrock 


UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CCC Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library | Privacy | Terms