Research Guides
History : Latin America: Articles
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for Latin American history.
Find Articles on Latin American History
Historical Abstracts is the best database to use when looking for academic journal articles in the field of modern world history including Latin American history for the period 1450 to the present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles in modern (1450 onwards) world history including Latin American history
- Oxford Bibliographies: Latin American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Scholar recommended articles & books on a wide range of Latin America-related topics
- PRISMA Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish, English & Portuguese articles related to all aspects of Latin America
Link your search terms using the AND connector. For example: peru and medicine and colonial. On the search results screen, use the options on the left toolbar to narrow your search results. To find the fulltext of the article (if not provided directly in the database), click on the "Check for Full Text" button and work your way through the screens. Not all articles will be online, some may only be in print, others may not be available at the UW. Articles from journals which the UW does not own can be requested via Interlibrary loan.
Other Useful Databases
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies: Atlantic History
- This link opens in a new window