Research Guides
Japan Studies: History
A research guide detailing Japan studies resources in English and Japanese.
Japanese History: Background Sources
- Historical dictionary of postwar Japan1-volume printed dictionary
There are many specialized encyclopedias and other reference materials dealing with Japanese history. Most of the sources are available only in print. Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional titles.
- Iwanami Nihon shi jiten / 岩波日本史辞典1-volume printed encyclopedia
- Japan knowledge ジャパンナレッジ This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Major history encyclopedia included in JapanKnowledge; 15 volume print version in East Asia Library
- Meiji shakai shiryō jiten / 明治社会資料事典4-volume printed encyclopedia of Meiji (1868-1912) social history
- Modern Japan : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalism1-volume print encyclopedia
- Nihon shisōshi jiten / 日本思想史辞典1 volume Dictionary of Intellectual History
- Sengoshi daijiten / 戦後史大事典1-volume print encyclopedia of postwar Japan
- Shōwa shakai shiryō jite / 昭和社会資料事典3-volume printed encyclopedia of Shōwa (1926-1989) social history
- Taishō shakai shiryō jiten / 大正社会資料事典4-volume printed encyclopedia of Taishō (1912-1926) social history
Major Digital Collections
Contact the Japan Studies librarian for help using these databases. Most material in Japanese only.
- Digital Archive of the Documents on Japanese Foreign Policy (1867-1912) / 日本外交文書デジタルアーカイブFulltext foreign ministry documents; in Japanese
- Japan Center for Asian Historical Records / アジア歴史資料センタOfficial Japanese government documents from the Meiji era to 1945; in Japanese
- Japanese Historical Text ArchiveJapanese historical texts dating from the ancient chronicles to Meiji period documents; includes English translations; email jhti@berkeley.edu for required user ID and password
- Kokkai kaigiroku / 国会会議録検査システムJapanese Diet (legislature) debates from 1947 onward
- National Archives of Japan Digital Archive / 国立公文書館Historical documents and images
- National Diet Library / 国立国会図書館National Library of Japan similar to the US Library of Congress
- University of Tokyo Historiographical Institute / 東京大学史料編纂所Most extensive digital archive for Japanese history includes the Dai Nihon Shiryo, all 3 sections of the Komonjo and much more
Printed Primary Source Collections
- Dai Nihon ishin shiryō / 大日本維新史料Multi-volume print collection on the Meiji Restoration
Multi-volume collections of Japanese historical texts are available in the East Asia Library. These are just a small selection of major collections available in print. Check with the Japan Studies Librarian for additional titles.
- Dai Nihon kokiroku / 大日本古記錄Multi-volume print collection of diaries from the 9th through 19th centuries
- Dai Nihon komonjo. Bakumatsu gaikoku kankei monjo. / 大日本古文書. 幕末外國關係文書Multi-volume print collection of foreign relations documents from the Bakumatsu period (1853-1867); also available online via the University of Tokyo Historiographical Institute
- Dai Nihon shiryō / 大日本史料Multi-volume print collection of sources covering the Heian through Edo periods; also available online via the University of Tokyo Historiographical Institute
- Gehouden bij de opperhoofden van het Nederlandsche Factorij in JapanPrinted collection of diaries kept by the heads of the Dutch Factory in Japan between 1633 and 1649; in Dutch & Japanese
- Gendaishi shiryō / 現代史資料Multi-volume collection of 20th century documents; also see Zoku Gendaishi shiryō
- Meiji bunka zenshū / 明治文化全集Multi-volume print collection of Meiji era documents
- Sources of Japanese traditionTwo-volume print collection of translated primary sources
Additional Collections of Primary Sources
Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional primary sources.
- Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: JapanMicrofilm collection; A10250
- Database of Old Diaries in the Heian PeriodMore than 3000 diaries from the Heian era; registration required
- Despatches from United States ministers to JapanMicrofilm collection; A951
- Documents of IrikiDocuments of the Iriki family covering 1135 to 1867 translated into English
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960-1976
- This link opens in a new window
Declassified US government documents dealing with American policy towards Japan - Newspaper Clippings Collection / 新聞記事文庫Japanese newspaper clippings from the Meiji period to 1969
- Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Japan, 1910-29Microfilmed State Department records; 43 reels; A10273
- Satow papers, diaries, 1861-1926Papers of the British diplomat on microfilm; 11 reels; A10237
- Shashin shūhō / 寫眞週報Digitized version of the pictorial magazine from 1938-1944
Researching History
This page provides some starting points for researching topics related to Japanese history. To find articles on these topics use the following databases.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English language publications in all subject areas, especially the humanities and the social sciences, related to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- CiNiiBooks and journals from wide range of Japanese university libraries
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of scholarly articles covering world history (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. - Complete Database for Japanese Magazines and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present (Koseisha) 雑誌記事索引修正データベース This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major database for periodical articles published in Japanese, including local periodicals not present in other indexes. 1868 to present.
Historic Newspapers
- Akahata / 赤旗 1928-1935Printed communist newspaper; incomplete
These are just a selection of the historic Japanese newspapers available at the UW Libraries. Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional titles. The microfilmed newspapers are housed in the Microform & Newspaper Collections on the ground floor of Suzzallo. The printed newspapers are in East Asia Auxiliary (a storage area) and must be requested.
- Asahi Shinbun / 朝日新聞 1888-2006Microfilmed newspaper G785; 1926-1945 also on CD-ROM in East Asia Library
- Fujin minshu shinbun / 婦人民主新聞 1946-1990Printed women's newspaper
- Japan chronicle 1914-1941Printed English-language weekly paper
- Japan Times 1897-1998English language newspaper on microfilm A10199
- Jinken shinbun / 人權新聞 1950-2005Printed newspaper of the Japan Civil Liberties Union
- Kokumin shinbun / 國民新聞 1900-1942Microfilmed newspaper G887
- Tōkyō eiri shinbun / 東京繪入新聞 1876-1889Microfilmed newspaper G780
- Yomidasu rekishikan / ヨミダス歴史館
- This link opens in a new window
Yomiuri Shimbun from 1874 to the present and English-language Daily Yomiuri from 1989 to the present
Historic Images & Maps
For additional links see Duke University's Visual Resources for Japan.
- Japanese Historical Mapsover 1000 images of maps
- Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji PeriodCollection of more than 7000 digitized photographs of 19th century Japan
- Magic Lantern Slides CollectionMore than 1000 slides depicting Japan and other regions
- Mainichi Photo BankMore than 100,000 digitized photos from the Mainichi newspaper
- Ohara Institute for Social ResearchInstitute includes digitized labor related posters and memorabilia
World War II & Occupation
Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional war-related primary sources.
- Decision to Drop the Atom BombCollection of Truman presidency documents dealing with the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki
- Japan and its occupied territories during World War IIMicrofilmed collection of documents; 16 reels; A6673
- MAGIC documents : summaries and transcripts of the top secret diplomatic communications of Japan, 1938-1945Microfilmed collection of documents; 14 reels; A10284
- Memories of Hiroshima & NagasakiTranslated first hand accounts by Hibakusha
- NHK Peace ArchivesMedia on Hiroshima & Nagasaki atomic bombings.
- NHK戦争証言アーカイブズFirst hand accounts of the war by Japanese soldiers
- Nihon senryō jūyō bunsho / 日本占領重要文書 / Documents concerning the Allied occupation and control of JapanSix volume printed collection of occupation documents; in English with Japanese introduction
- Sengo hoshō mondai shiryōshū / 戦後補償問題資料集Multi-volume print collection of WWII documents dealing with Korea and forced labor