Pacific Northwest Collection: Research Ideas, Guides & Exhibits
Archival collections and library materials relating to the history, culture, and people of the Pacific Northwest.
Exhibits and research guides are great tools to explore research areas in Pacific Northwest history and culture. We've selected items from our collections for these online exhibits and guides to pique your curiosity and encourage new research.
Under the Homestead Act of 1862, an individual could claim 160 acres of public land in the Pacific Northwest for a small fee. This exhibit provides information about claiming land, daily life, family histories, and settlement areas.
Special Collections in the University of Washington Libraries holds extensive materials relating to the history and culture of the visual arts in the Pacific Northwest. This guide showcases a small portion of these holdings. Presented here are highlights of artistic works -- primarily book illustrations, but also original artwork and decorative maps -- which document the exploration, discovery, and settlement of this region, dating from approximately 1770 to 1910.
Ethnic, Gender, & Religious Communities (Civil Rights)
The interviews in this exhibit make up a unique record of the lives of South Asians who have contributed greatly to the fabric and texture of the region. These interviews reflect religious, linguistic, occupational, and gender diversity and provide rich insight into changing experiences of South Asians in the Pacific Northwest.
The Labor Archives of Washington (LAW) was founded to preserve the records of working people and their unions and to serve as a center for historical research, ensuring that new generations have access to the rich labor history of the region. LAW is part of the University of Washington Libraries Special Collections.
A portal for digital resources associated with the UW Libraries Special Collections' Labor Archives of Washington. This portal makes hundreds of primary textual and visual resources relating to Pacific Northwest labor history more accessible to the public through the UW Libraries Digital Collections.
This exhibit resulted from a collaborative campus-wide project in early 1999 at the University of Washington to commemorate the eightieth anniversary of the Seattle General Strike of 1919 and the 65th anniversary of the Maritime Strikes of 1934.
DURING THE 1920s, many Japanese immigrants on the West Coast found a successful way to both express themselves and to share in the culture of the West by making and exhibiting Pictorial art photography. So many of them were making photographs that they came together to form amateur camera clubs to share their love of the medium.
A portal for digital resources about mountains and mountaineering from the collection of the UW Libraries Special Collections. This portal makes textual and visual resources about the history of Pacific Northwest mountaineering available online through the University of Washington Libraries Digital Collection.
The portal provides a general overview of key archival, printed, and visual resources in UW Libraries Special Collections that document Senator Jackson's long and distinguished career in public service.
The photographs in this exhibit depict scenes of life in Washington, the Evergreen State, during the past century. They are taken from the extensive collection of historical photographs located in the of the University Libraries.
The Postcard Collection originated with the personal accumulation of a faculty member, Prof. Caroline Ober, who taught Spanish at the university from 1897 to 1929. Ober was a notable victim of the postcard-collecting craze that swept the nation at the beginning of the twentieth century, and she initiated postcard trades with dozens of other collectors around the world. She also used postcards to maintain ties with former pupils, and with her well-traveled family.
This exhibit presents King County, Washington, through 12,000 historical images carefully chosen from twelve organizations' collections. The 19th and 20th century images portray people, places, and events in the county's urban, suburban, and rural communities.
On September 20, 1951, a forest fire larger than any in memory on the Olympic Peninsula struck the Calawah River and the community of Forks, WA. Videos of residents who remember the fire are included in this exhibit.
This exhibit showcases materials documenting Dr. Birnbaum's career as a mathematician and his service to the University of Washington and includes correspondence, diaries, and drafts of unpublished materials