A database on Nordic media and communication research, including film. Indexes and materials from 2006 forward. Searching capabilities include limiting by country. A great resource if you need to find info about scholars, institutions, and research about Nordic cinema. Material in Danish and English.
Indexes articles from journals published worldwide in languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Coverage includes articles on film. Some fulltext. Links to the UW Catalog to help you find materials.
1) Remember that MLA is vast. To help you search just for films, limit with an advanced search and in the subject heading box type words like film and dramatic arts.
2) MLA does not provide long abstracts about an article, use the Full-text @ UW link to see whether UW has an electronic or physical copy of the material you want to look at.
Index to FIAF Affiliates Publications (1966-2010), Film/TV Documentation Collections, International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-2012), and Treasures from the Film Archives. Index only; no fulltext; some abstracts. Links to the UW Catalog to help you find materials.
1) Check the buttons for FIAF, International Index to TV Periodicals, International Index to Film Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives to help narrow the search.
2) After entering your keyword or other search term, to see your results, look for the light blue box at the top of the page and click on Display Results.
3) Don't be deterred by the awkward user interface! The resources available here are worth the look. Many materials are available in the UW Libraries either online or in paper format. Links to UW Libraries are available for each citation.
Index of 150 international film and television periodicals and selected articles on film and television from 200 other periodicals. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. Index only; no fulltext. More approachable than FIAF, but not linked to the UW catalog. With helpful information about what type of material (e.g., article, book review, film review)
1) Click on the search or advanced search links at the top of the page. The advanced search can be quite helpful when you need to limit by type of material or by language.
2) Use browse to search by subject headings, person names, production titles, or corporate names if you know your topic and want to hone in on the specific search term associated with it.
3) Use this Index in tandem with the UW Catalog and Database finder. Many items are in the UW Libraries or are just a few clicks away via Interlibrary Loan.
1) Depending on your needs, you may need to look at the Proquest, JSTOR, Project Muse or other provider. This link connects you to the list of portals to Scandinavian Studies
2) Keywords like cinema and the country names will help you limit your search