Skip to main content

Research Guides

Streaming Video Guide: News & Newsreels

Find streaming and online videos for your research and teaching needs.

Internet Archive's TV News

The Internet Archive's TV News collection now contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national US networks and stations. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added. Use the index of searchable text and short, streamed clips to find programs to borrow on DVD-ROM or view at the Internet Archive’s library in San Francisco.

Universal Newsreels

Universal Newsreels, produced from 1929 to 1967, were released twice a week. Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain movie audiences.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.  The collection spans the presidential administrations of Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). Special news broadcasts found in the Archive include political conventions, presidential speeches and press conferences, Watergate hearings, coverage of the Persian Gulf War, the events of September 11, 2001, the War in Afghanistan, and the War in Iraq.

TV News Online

  • ABC News Video - Clips and news segments from ABC News programs, including 20/20, Nightline, and others.
  • Bill Moyers Journal - Full episodes of a show hosted by Bill Moyers that investigates topics and issues that are shaping our country.
  • CNN Video - Live video feeds, clips, and segments from CNN news and shows, including Larry King Live, Anderson Cooper 360, and others
  • C-SPAN - Live video feeds, clips, and segments of the proceedings, testimony, and speeches conferences of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government.
  • CBS News Video - Segments and clips from CBS News programs, including 60 Minutes, 48 Hours, and others.
  • Democracy Now! A daily TV/radio news program, hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez, airing on over 900 stations, pioneering the largest community media collaboration in the United States.
  • FOX News Video - Clips and segments from various FOX News programs.
  • FRONTLINE - Over 80 full episodes of the PBS news documentary program that often explores complex and controversial topics.
  • FRONTLINE/WORLD - Full episodes of this companion to FRONTLINE features first person "short stories" from journalists around the world.
  • MSNBC News Videos - Clips and segments from various MSNBC News programs.
  • NewsHour with Jim Lehrer - episodes & clips from the PBS nightly news program.
  • NOW - Full episodes of a news program with documentary segments and interviews that examine important social, political, and economic issues.
  • Reuters - Clips and segments from Reuters.

Alexander Street Press World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966

The World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966 collection contains almost 500 hours newsreel footage, documenting life and events from 1929 through the post-war period and international perspectives on major global events, including World War II.

Streaming World TV

Livestation brings together live news channels from around the world.