BCORE 104G: Red Riding Hood on the Rapid Ride: Folklore, Fairy Tale, and Fantastical Stories (Spiegler): Web sites for folklore research

E-Resource Starting Points

This page represents a small selection of primary e-sources (e.g., collections of folktales, legends etc., in the box to the right), websites (e.g. resources available via the Smithsonian Institution), and other digital tools to get you started as you pursue your research.

Google Scholar
Free search engine indexing full text of scholarly literature across disciplines. Includes most peer-reviewed online journals.
HathiTrust
Offers a collection of millions of titles digitized around the world.

Other Web Pages

Documenting the American South
Contains primary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture, catalogued according to the Library of Congress Subject headings.
Folkstreams: A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Root Culture
A designated national preserve offering 75+ documentaries on broader subjects ranging from African American Culture, Customs, Festival, to Urban Life, and Women. The films are copyright protected; users may stream films at home.
Internet Public Library Folklore Pathfinder
American Folklife Resources. Provides an overview of Folklife, lists printed and network resources, as well as teaching resources, online exhibits, and genres.
Masters of Traditional Arts Education Guide
Highlights the works of National Heritage Fellows through biography, photos, voice, and music. Also includes tools for learning, suggestions from teachers and librarians for activities and mini-lessons.
Open Folklore, including the American Folklore Society Ethnographic Thesaurus
In partnership with the American Folklore Society and Indiana University, Open Folklore makes books, journals, gray literature and a web archives available.
Smithsonian Folkways
Smithsonian Folkways is a nonprofit record label. This website disseminated audio recordings and educational materials, with a focus on cultural heritage.
The Traditional Ballad Index
Searchable via keyword and title, the Traditional Ballad Index also functions as an annotated bibliography of Folk Songs of the English Speaking World.

BCORE 104G: Red Riding Hood on the Rapid Ride: Folklore, Fairy Tale, and Fantastical Stories (Spiegler): Web sites for folklore research

E-Resource Starting Points

Other Web Pages

Chat with a UW Librarian