Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Washington State & Historical Maps
Early Washington Maps: A Digital Collection
This site is a collaboration between Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections at the Washington State University and Special Collections and the Map Collection at the University of Washington Libraries. Spanning three hundred years, the site includes maps of explorers such as Lewis and Clark, documents ownership struggles and boundary disputes in the region, shows the development of one of the last frontiers on the continent, and demonstrates the efforts of the U.S. government to survey the land.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
David Rumsey is a private collector of rare historic maps who has created an online database of scanned maps for public use. "The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 10,000 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented." The images can be viewed and downloaded in unusually high detail.
Washington State Aerial Photos
Washington State Coastal Atlas Shoreline Photos
The Washington Coastal Atlas is managed and maintained by the Washington Department of Ecology with funding from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Office of Ocean and Coastal and Resource Management (OCRM).
The data presented on this Atlas is from many sources and is available through the cooperation and partnership of Federal and state agencies such as: the NOAA Coastal Services Center, the Washington Department of Natural Resources, and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife.
The Washington Coastal Atlas is a participant in the International Coastal Atlas Network.
The current version of the Washington Coastal Atlas is the work of Darby Veeck, Liz O’Dea, Brian Lynn, Kathy Taylor, Ewan Whitaker and Tammy Pelletier with oversight from the Coastal Atlas Steering Committee.
The Aerial Photo Project Tool
This tool is designed to help you determine whether or not the UW Libraries Map Collection has air photos for your place and time period of interest. To view and make reproductions of the air photos you must visit the Map Collection.
Google Maps Tutorial: Create Your Own Map
UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms