Evidence based medicine is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. The practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research.
A Systematic Review is a literature review focused on a single question which tries to identify, appraise, select and synthesis all high quality research evidence relevant to that question. Reviews are considered a Secondary Source in nursing.
Systematic reviews use explicit methods to identify, select, and critically evaluate relevant research.
Systematic reviews minimize the possibility of bias by using explicit criteria, and expand the relevance of individual studies with limited scope, but ...
Only a small number of clinical topics are covered by systematic reviews, because they require years of effort to develop.
Meta-analyses are systematic reviews that combine the results of several studies using quantitative statistics.
Consists of Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane controlled trials register (CCTR); and Cochrane review methodology database (CRMD).
PubMed Clinical QueriesAfter searching, look in the Systematic Review column for systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines.
Annual review of nursing researchThe purpose of this annual review is to critically examine the full gamut of literature on key topics in nursing practice, including nursing theory, care delivery, nursing education, and the professional aspects of nursing.
Research articles are published results of research studies and considered a Primary Source in nursing.
Research studies are the primary means of developing new clinical knowledge, but ...
Research articles vary in the level of detail given about the study. You may need to do your own evaluation.
Literature in nursing and allied health disciplines, 1937 to present.
PubMed Clinical QueriesAfter searching, look in the Clinical Study Categories column to limit to a specific clinical study category and scope.
ACT Center ResourcesIncludes links to articles with scientific evidence supporting the Chronic Care Model.
Clinical Practice Guidelines
Clinical Practice Guidelines are systematically developed statements of appropriate care designed to assist the practitioner and patient make decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances.
Guidelines from reputable, authoritative organizations are usually based on the most current, relevant research, but ...
Guidelines are developed using widely varying standards. Cost may be considered as well as health outcomes.
Selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts & CME materials
National Guideline ClearinghouseComprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. The database includes structured abstracts and links to full-text guidelines (where available).
Books on Evidence Based Practice
Use the UW Libraries Search box below to search for ebooks and print books on evidence based practice.