Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- HSTRY 498: The Global History of Human Rights
- Finding More Background Info
HSTRY 498: The Global History of Human Rights: Finding More Background Info
Encyclopedias and handbooks
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Also check these online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks, Oxford Reference Online & Oxford Research Encyclopedias.
Encyclopedias: Quick Info
- Atrocities, massacres, and war crimes : an encyclopedia
This link opens in a new window
- Behind Barbed Wire: An Encyclopedia of Concentration and Prisoner-of-War Camps
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of race and racism
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical dictionary of human rights
- This link opens in a new window
- Modern Genocide: The Definitive Resource and Document Collection
- This link opens in a new window
In Depth Background on Human Rights Laws & Issues
- Elgar Companion to the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of indigenous peoples' rights
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook on international human rights terminology
- This link opens in a new window
- Human Rights: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Atrocity Crimes
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law
- This link opens in a new window
- Research handbook on human rights and the environment
- This link opens in a new window
- Research Handbook on International Human Rights Law
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Human Rights in Asia
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge History of Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
- Sage handbook of human rights
- This link opens in a new window
- Sage Handbook of Human Trafficking and Modern Day Slavery
- This link opens in a new window