Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

Southeast Asia Luce Foundation Archives Fellows and Libraries Trainee Information: Archives Fellowships Information and Reports

Description of research themes and collections being considered under the Henry Luce Foundation grant: Tracing Authoritarianism: Linking Southeast Asia and Southeast Asian-America Through Archives, Language, and Pedagogy.

Fellows' Reports and Presentations

Exploring Hidden Southeast Asia Archives at UW Libraries and Beyond

Tuesday June 7th, 12:30 PM

Register to receive the link

Dimas Romadhon: "Wayang and revolusi: Tristuti Rachmadi’s shadow play manuscripts at the University of Washington"
Caroline Baicy: “Scattered Archives: The Philippine Exhibit and Igorrote Village at AYPE, 1909”.

Abstracts

Scattered Archives: The Philippine Exhibit and Igorrote Village at AYPE, 1909

Caroline Baicy

Between June 1 and October 16, 1909, Seattle held the Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition (known as AYPE). Initially meant to display the economic potential of Alaska and the Yukon in the initial plan, it was expanded to include Seattle’s centrality in trade over the Pacific and its proximity to America’s colonies in the Pacific and Southeast Asia. In its inclusion of the Pacific, AYPE became a space where the Philippines and its people, more specifically ethno-linguistic groups from what is now the Cordillera Administrative Region, were put on display through the federal government and private enterprise. While scholars such as Robert Rydell, Matthew Klingle, and John Putman have discussed the planning and vision of the AYPE, the purpose of this presentation will focus on the process of remembering and imagining the Philippine Exhibit and the Igorrote Village. It will consider how the scattered nature of the archival material on the Philippine Exhibit and the Igorrote Village allows for a multivalent process of remembering the AYPE. 

Wayang and revolusi: Tristuti Rachmadi’s shadow play manuscripts at the University of Washington

Dimas Romadhon

In the middle of the global Cold War, Javanese shadow play (wayang) became a strategic medium to promulgate various contesting ideologies in Indonesia. Between 1959 to 1965, the Indonesian Communist Party (PKI) and its cultural front, Lekra, sought to modernize wayang performance, to release it from its feudal values, and to use it as a means of revolution. Pioneer to this effort was Tristuti Rachmadi (1939-2009). Tristuti was a prominent shadow master (dalang) who won the national dalang competition and was known for his affiliation with Lekra. During the political chaos in 1965, he was arrested and later exiled to Buru until 1979. After his release, he was not allowed to perform for another 20 years, which makes his names unknown among contemporary wayang audience. During his prohibition from performing, Tristuti wrote hundreds of wayang scripts for other dalang. His manuscripts circulated discreetly and anonymously among dalang communities and continued to shape the wayang storytelling style in Surakarta until nowadays. This presentation suggests that Tristuti Rachmadi’s manuscript collection, currently stored at the University of Washington, provides an important trajectory to understand what happened to the traditional performing arts during the occurrence of Cold War scenes in Indonesia and, potentially, the possible confluence of communism and the Javanese values.

Position Advertisement - Currently Closed

Southeast Asian Studies Archives Fellow

Req #: 186224
Department: UW Library
Appointing Department Web Address: https://www.lib.washington.edu/
Job Location: Seattle Campus
Posting Date: 01/15/2021 Re-posted January 2022
Closing Info: April 3rd 2022 or  Until Filled 
Salary: Pay rate is competitive. Commensurate Upon Qualifications and Experience. 
Shift: First Shift 

 

The University of Washington (UW) is proud to be one of the nation’s premier educational and research institutions. Our people are the most important asset in our pursuit of achieving excellence in education, research, and community service. Our staff not only enjoys outstanding benefits and professional growth opportunities, but also an environment noted for diversity, community involvement, intellectual excitement, artistic pursuits, and natural beauty.

The University of Washington Library currently has 1 outstanding opportunities for Temporary Southeast Asian Studies Archives Fellow.

The UW Libraries is one of the largest and most innovative libraries in North America with extensive collections in print, electronic, and other formats. Providing services to three campuses, the UW Libraries also plays a significant leadership role regionally and throughout the profession.  The UW Libraries is recognized for its excellent service, innovative learning and research spaces, collaborative approaches, extensive assessment efforts and diverse award-winning staff.

The University of Washington Libraries invites applicants for our Southeast Asian Studies Archives Fellowship Program funded by the Henry Luce Foundation.  We invite recent Ph.D. graduates, or finishing doctoral candidates across all disciplines in the arts, humanities and social sciences to apply for one of three one-quarter long full time paid fellowships in the 2022-23 academic year.  Fellows will spend a quarter in one of the leading Southeast Asian Studies library collections in the country, and have the opportunity to learn about library and archival practice while working with Southeast Asia Librarian, Dr. Judith Henchy. We seek candidates able to engage with one or more of the themes of our Luce grant: the ethics and aesthetics of care and community restitution in archives and libraries; interpreting the archival traces of authoritarianism; new pedagogies and research to bridge Southeast Asian and Southeast Asian American Studies.  Fellows will work on projects that build on their existing scholarly interests, and country or language of research, while engaging with one of the unique collections at the University of Washington Libraries.  Preference will be given to applicants with an interest in working with the following collections: the Elizabeth Becker Collection of documents on Democratic Kampuchea; the Adrian Cowell Collection of archival film footage on the Shan State drug trade and secessionist war; the Tristuti Rachmadi wayang manuscripts collection from New Order Indonesia; the Bob Jones Collection of books and journals on Indochina, 1900 to 1975; and the colonial-era Philippine materials in the University of Washington Libraries and Burke Museum, including those from the 1909 Alaska Yukon Exposition. Fellows are expected to give a lecture or seminar addressing the way their research intersects with a Luce grant theme. Their work while in residence will address one or more themes of the UW Luce grant in the form of publication, expanded dissertation investigation, or a collaborative outreach project that brings Southeast Asian, or Southeast Asian American communities into dialog with archives.

Fellows must be in residence in Seattle during the 12 week fellowship period.

Applications should include a current CV and a summarized project proposal that addresses one of the research objectives our Luce research initiative listed above. The project proposal is entered in the cover letter assessment and is limited to approximately 2 pages (8000 characters) Proposals should indicate your interest in any of the named Southeast Asia archives, and which academic quarter you are interested in taking your fellowship. Applicants advanced for further consideration will be asked to provide a letter of recommendation from a dissertation supervisor or someone familiar with applicant’s scholarly work, and may be asked for additional detail regarding their project proposal.

For further information, please contact Judith Henchy, Head, Southeast Asia Section, University of Washington Libraries: judithh@uw.edu

Duties:

• Develop a research project engaging with UW Libraries collections and one or more of the themes of our Luce grant;
       o   Consider linkages between theoretical and practical approached to the questions of ethics and aesthetics of care and community restitution in archives and libraries;
       o   Consider UW Libraries collections for their contribution to understanding and interpreting traces of authoritarianism in Southeast Asia;
       o   Consider how archival collections inform new pedagogies and research approaches that bridge Southeast Asian and Southeast Asian American Studies.
• Give a lecture or seminar addressing the way their research intersects with a Luce grant theme;
• Demonstrate your research in the form of publication, expanded dissertation investigation, or a collaborative outreach project that brings Southeast Asian, or Southeast Asian American communities into dialog with archives.


Qualifications:

• Ph. D. degree or Candidate status in an arts, humanities, or social science field.
• Entry level position, no work experience requirements.



Application Process:

Application site: https://bit.ly/3o0UWgO
The application process for UW positions may include completion of a variety of online assessments to obtain additional information that will be used in the evaluation process.  These assessments may include Work Authorization, Cover Letter, and/or others.  Any assessments that you need to complete will appear on your screen as soon as you select “Apply to this position”. Once you begin an assessment, it must be completed at that time; if you do not complete the assessment you will be prompted to do so the next time you access your “My Jobs” page. If you select to take it later, it will appear on your "My Jobs" page to take when you are ready. Please note that your application will not be reviewed, and you will not be considered for this position until all required assessments have been completed.


Applicants considered for this position will be required to disclose if they are the subject of any substantiated findings or current investigations related to sexual misconduct at their current employment and past employment. Disclosure is required under Washington state law.
 

Committed to attracting and retaining a diverse staff, the University of Washington will honor your experiences, perspectives and unique identity. Together, our community strives to create and maintain working and learning environments that are inclusive, equitable and welcoming.

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms