TESC 310 Library Guide - Winter 2025: Finding Books
Using Books & Ebooks for Research
Books can provide an in-depth look at a topic, and are often written in a style that explains and contextualizes a phenomenon more. If using books is allowed by your professor for a research paper, this can be a good option for students. Remember, you won't be reading the whole book, just the portions that apply to your research.
Ebook Collections in Science
-
EnvironmentalSCIENCEnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Environmental science handbooks and other ebooks
-
EBSCOhost ebook collection This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers. During platform maintenance on Monday December 8, 2025, functionality will be temporarily limited to reading eBooks online, downloading chapters, and reading existing checkouts offline.
-
Oxford Resarch Encyclopedia of Climate ScienceThe Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental ScienceThe Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world's leading scholars and researchers.
-
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowBooks on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers.
-
ScienceDirect EbooksEnvironmental Sciences Ebooks from Science Direct
-
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer.
UW Libraries Search with Tips
Tips for Searching:
Once you've run a search, use the "Refine My Results" options on the left side of the page. It's a quick way to drill down to the most useful results without paging through a lot of items you're not really interested in. Options often include:
- Resource type or format (examples: book, article)
- Library (example: UW Tacoma)
- Date of Publication
- Language
- Topic