Skip to main content
Finding Journal Articles
Articles on ethnic studies topics can be found in databases covering various disciplines. Those listed here are some of the major databases for conducting research on topics in ethnic studies.
Database searching tips
Use databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. There are specialized databases for various subjects. Listed in the boxes below are selected databases for finding articles on topics in American Ethnic Studies.
- AND returns results containing all terms: Asian Americans AND education
- OR returns results with either term: Mexican Americans OR Latinos OR Chicanos
Good for use with related terms or synonyms
- Placing terms in parentheses ( ) indicates separate concepts, like an equation, (A or B) and C:
Immigration AND (Mexican Americans OR Latinos OR Chicanos )
- Placing two or more words in quotation marks " " returns results using that specific phrase
- Truncation * returns results with a root word and any ending
rac* [finds race, races, racial, racism ...]
Note: some databases use different truncation symbols (* is most common; others include !, $, #). Check the online help if the asterisk doesn’t work
Starting Points for American Ethnic Studies
The [UW restricted] icon indicates that a resource has use restrictions. You may be prompted to enter your UWNetID after clicking the link.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
More tools for Finding Articles
Full-text articles from alternative and independent press sources
Additional databases for finding articles related to topics in American Ethnic Studies
Biblography of Asian Studies
Articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia
A part of ProQuest Historical Newspaper database collection. A leading African-American newspaper: coverage, 1910-1975
Full-text access to indepth articles covering a wide range of issues. A good source for finding opposing viewpoints.
eHRAF World Cultures
Collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture and subject.
Articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key social science and humanities journals.
Literature Resource Center
Literary biographies, journal articles, critical essays, and an encyclopedia of literary terms
A part of ProQuest Historical Newspaper database collection. Coverage, 1911-2002
Web of Science
Science, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes
E-Journals in American Ethnic Studies
E-Journals are online, full-text scholarly (academic, peer reviewed, refereed) publications to which the library subscribes.
A list of selected e-journals in American Ethnic Studies available to University of Washington students, faculty, staff, and affiliates. Access to these resources are restricted remotely.
Full-text back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's
Current issues of more than 100 scholarly journals primarily in the humanities & social sciences
No Full-text Available
If the full-text of an article is not available directly in a database such as PAIS International:
- click on the Check for UW holdings button to find out if the UW has an electronic or print copy of the journal article you need
- no button, then check UW Libraries Search for the title of the journal to determine if the UW owns a copy. In the search box limit to University of Washington Libraries.
Open Access Resources
Ethnic Studies Commons
The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. This dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.