Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open, with new expanded hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7
UW Libraries Operations Updates
African American Studies Centers
Selected list of Research Centers for the study of African-American culture and history.
Amistad Research Center
The nation's oldest, largest and most comprehensive independent archive specializing in the history of African-Americans and other Ethnic Minorities.
Black Archives Research Center - Florida A&M University
The Carnegie Library at Florida A&M became the founding home of the Black Archives Research Center and Museum. In 1978, Carnegie Library was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The majority of the center’s archival holdings consist of records relating to the history of Africans and African Americans, especially their institutions and organizations.
Ralph J. Bunche Center for African-American Studies
The Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies, founded in 1969 as the Center for Afro-American Studies (CAAS), was renamed after Nobel Prize winner, scholar, activist, and UCLA alumnus Ralph J. Bunche in 2003, in commemoration of the centenary of his birth.
John Hope Franklin Research Center
The John Hope Franklin Research Center is a repository for African and African American studies documentation and an educational outreach division of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.
The Institute for Research in African-American Studies
The Institute for Research in African-American Studies of Columbia University, founded in July 1993 by Dr. Manning Marable, is an academic resource center. The purposes and activities of the Institute for Research in African-American Studies are grounded within the best scholarship of the black intellectual tradition.
King Center for Social Change
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change (“The King Center”) has been a global destination, resource center and community institution for over a quarter century. Nearly a million people each year make pilgrimage to the National Historic Site to learn, be inspired and pay their respects to Dr. King’s legacy.
The Moorland-Spingarn Research Center
THE MOORLAND-SPINGARN RESEARCH CENTER is recognized as one of the world's largest and most comprehensive repositories for the documentation of the history and culture of people of African descent in Africa, the Americas, and other parts of the world.
Northwest African-American Museum
The Northwest African American Museum connects Seattle and the Pacific Northwest with the world by discovering, honoring, and celebrating our African American community’s traditions and innovations in art, education, history, and culture.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, a research unit of The New York Public Library, is one of the leading institutions of its kind in the world collecting preserving, and providing access to materials documenting black life, and promoted the study and interpretation of the history and culture of peoples of African descent.
Selected Online, Print, & Web Resources - African Americans
Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African-American Experice
Temporary digital access through HaitiTrust. Provides over 3500 headwords entries and 2 million words of text. Also includes illustrations, maps, and photographs. Extended essays on principal themes by world-renowned scholars.
Print copy available in Suzzallo|Allen DT14 .A37435 2005.
Provides historical and current information on African American politics, society and culture. Multiple online access points.
African American Experience
Reference content, primary documents, and media illustrating the history and culture of the African American community
African-American Primary Source Materials: Archives West
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.
Almanac of African-American Heritage
List featuring people, places, times, and events that have shaped Black culture. Mutilple digital|electronic access points.
Includes African-American Song, streaming audio of over 56,000 albums of American roots music and pre-20th century American popular music.
Black Women in America: an Encyclopedia
Provides entries covering culture, movements and historical periods, groups and organizations, politics, and occupations.
Concise Oxford Companion to African-American Literature
Provides biographies of authors, critics, literary characters, plot summaries, and historical figures. Multiple online access points.
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history : the Black experience in the Americas
Entries covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Multiple online access points available.
Encyclopedia of African-American Society
Exploration of how the foundations of African-American culture have influenced today’s society.
Print volumes available in Suzzallo|Allen E185 .E546 2005 .
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
Comprehensive compilation of information on all aspects of this creative, dynamic period. For a full list of entries, contributors, and more.
Oxford African-American Studies Center
the online authority on the African American experience.
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities.
Oxford Bibliographies: African-American Studies
Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies provides bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies—culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.
Pacific Northwest African American Collection Research Guide
Highlights archival and printed materials, photographs, and moving image collections available in Special Collections that relate to Black communities, political groups, and civil rights movements in the Pacific Northwest.
Selected Primary Source Resources
A document or physical object written or created during the time under study. Examples: news articles, letters, correspondence, interviews, company reports, advertisements, event notices, government legislation, etc.
Baltimore African American
A part of ProQuest Historical Newspaper database collection. (1893-1988)
Black Drama 1850 -
Contains plays by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
A part of ProQuest Historical Newspaper database collection. A leading African-American newspaper: coverage, 1910-1975
New York Amsterdam News
A leading African-American newspaper. Multiple online access points.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Articles by scholars and core content that includes: Africana;;Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography
A part of ProQuest Historical Newspaper database collection. (1911-2002)