Skip to Main Content
All UW Libraries are CLOSED but online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Asian-American Studies Centers
Selected list of Research Centers for the study of Asian American culture and history.
Asian and Asian American Institute
A multidisciplinary research and teaching program at the University of Connecticut.
Asian-American Studies Center
Founded in 1969 at UCLA, the Center has played a critical role in developing Southern California's infrastructure of social service agencies, civil rights organizations, museums, historical societies, media and cultural groups, and business associations that serve and represent the Asian American and Pacific Islander population.
NYU Center for the Study of Asian American Health
The Center for the Study of Asian American Health (CSAAH) is a National Institute of Health (NIH) National Center for Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD) funded National Research Center of Excellence based in the Section for Health Equity within the Department of Population Health (DPH) at the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine.
Center for Pacific Island Studies
Located at the University of Hawaii, both an academic department and a larger home for initiatives that bring together people and resources to promote an understanding of the Pacific Islands and issues of concern to Pacific Islanders.
Selected Resources: Asian-American
A print resource, includes more than 20 Asian American ethnic groups experiences, covering immigration patterns, culture, employment, and more.
Print resource that provides more than 2,000 entries on Asian life, culture, and history in the United States.
This Web resource sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, is designed to increase public awareness of the health concerns of these important minority groups, who are major contributors to our society's economy, innovation, and vibrancy. Links are provided to an assortment of documents, web sites, databases, and other resources
Asian | Pacific Islander Profiles
Asian and Pacific Islander demographic information from the United State Census Bureau.
Best Colleges - Asian Americans, Model Minority Myth
BestColleges.com team of experts curated a guide focused on the Minority Myth of Asian Americans. The guide covers the Asian racist myth and the steps society must take to dismantle it.
This biographical dictionary features profiles of 166 distinguished Asian Americans and their significant contributions to American society.
The Encyclopedia of Japanese-American History
This reference source is organized into four sections: a historical overview by Gary Okihiro, a distinguished scholar of Japanese American history; a chronology of major events in Japanese American history; encyclopedic entries on significant individuals, organizations, events, and movements; and an annotated bibliography of 100 major works. The encyclopedia features more than 400 entries on a wide range of topics.
Gale In Context: U.S. History
Overview of historic American events, issues & people with selected scholarly articles & primary sources
Gale Primary Sources
Search all of Gale's primary source collections & analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
This source contains 250 biographical sketches on noteworthy Asian Americans, both living and deceased, from all fields of endeavor.
Who’s Who Among Asian-Americans
Temporary online access through HathiTrust. Provides a list of contemporary Asian-American leaders from all occupations and ethnic and cultural subgroups.
- Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.