Skip to main content
Chicano Studies Research centers
Selected Chicano Studies Research Centers.
UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center
The UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) was founded in 1969 with a commitment to foster multidisciplinary research efforts as part of the land grant mission of the University of California.
Center for Mexican American Studies
The mission of the Center for Mexican American Studies (CMAS) is to serve Texas and the nation as a leader in the intellectual development of Mexican American and Latina/o studies.
Center for Latin American, Caribbean and Latino Studies
Promotes research, training, and public engagement on the histories, cultures, and politics of Latin American and Caribbean peoples across the Americas and throughout the world.
Center for Latin American Studies
The mission of the UC Berkeley Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) is to inspire new ideas and research by bringing together academics, artists, decision-makers and entrepreneurs from Latin America, the United States, and the world at the University of California, Berkeley.
Center for Latin American and Latino Studies
The Center for Latin American & Latino Studies (CLALS), established in January 2010, is a campus-wide initiative advancing and disseminating state-of-the-art research. Our faculty affiliates and partners are at the forefront of efforts to understand economic development, democratic governance, cultural diversity and change, peace and diplomacy, health, education and environmental well-being.
Selected Online & Print Resources - Chicano
- Latinas in the United States
- Historical Encyclopedia recording the contribution of women of Latin American birth or heritage to the economic and cultural development of the United States.
- Latino encyclopedia
- Provides entries on Latino life, culture, and history in the United States.
- Latino and Latina writers
- Provides biographies of American writers of Hispanic origins. Includes bibliographical references and index.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States [UW restricted]
- Over 900 articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
- Chicano Americans Primary Source Resources: Archives West
- Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.