American Ethnic Studies: Home

Resources for beginning research in American Ethnic Studies.

Welcome to the American Ethnic Studies Research Guide

Photograph, Civil Rights March on Washington, DC August 28, 1963,
Miscellaneous Subjects, Staff & Stringer Photographs
National Archives, Records of the U.S. Information Agency
Record Group 306 (ARC ID 542045)

This guide provides helpful starting points for a range of topics focused on contemporary issues in American Ethnic Studies (African-American, Asian-American, and Chicano (Hispanic/Latinx/Mexican-American).

American Ethnic Studies Collecting Guide - guidelines for collecting materials and resources.

Racial Justice Resources - a guide to better understand issues related to racial justice and racism in America.

Undergraduate Guide to Using Data - a guide to data resources.

Department of American Ethnic Studies - multicultural and multidisciplinary research and teaching unit dedicated to the production and transmission of knowledge on key aspects and issues of race and ethnicity.

For historical resources, including primary documents, see History by Topic Guide.

Feel free to contact me with any questions you have about your research.

Research Tool List:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources and historical newspapers and other primary sources on the Black experience from ancient past to present day.
Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality, from 1970-current. Encompasses Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and GenderWatch.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of classic and contemporary ethnographic documentaries
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.

Latin American, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Online Free E-Resources (LACLI)
LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content.
Oxford Bibliographies in African-American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, annotated listing of the most important significant sources on African-American related topics.
Oxford Bibliographies: Asian and Asian-American Topics
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, annotated listing of the most important significant sources on Asian-American related topics
Oxford Bibliographies in Latino Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Latino Studies provides bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of Latino Studies—culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, case studies, datasets, and video covering the practices of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research methodologies. See SRM Guide

American Ethnic and American Indian Studies Librarian on facebook
Follow the American Ethnic and American Indian Studies librarian on facebook. Like if so moved!

Librarian

Harry Murphy

Email Me

Contact:

Currently working a hybrid schedule

*Office Hours
Odegaard Writing & Research Cntr. (OWRC) Zoom appointments only:
Thu 2 - 3:30 pm

American Ethnic Studies related Zoom appointments:
Mon 11-Noon
Tue 11-Noon
Wed 11-Noon

Unfamiliar with Zoom?

Phone: 206-616-5296