Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Bioengineering
- Find Articles & Conference Papers
Bioengineering: Find Articles & Conference Papers
Starting Points for Finding Articles & Conference Papers
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Key database for biomedical research and clinical care articles. Biomedical journal articles covering all stages of research and development: target identification, preclinical development, clinical trials, patient care. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad, multi-disciplinary science and social science database. Index to scholarly journal articles in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities. Cited reference searching.
- IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE publications in electrical engineering, computer science, physics, bioengineering/biomedical engineering, aerospace, and related fields. Includes transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, books and standards.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and engineering. Also covers many areas of the physical and applied sciences, as well as information technology and control engineering. - Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of all fields of engineering. - EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical journals and conference proceedings - ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Association of Computing Machinery journals, magazines, books, and conference proceedings. Computer science and engineering, applications, data science.
- ASME Digital Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). Includes biomechanical engineering and biomedical engineering.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social science, science and technology.
- SciFinder Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of chemistry as well as related disciplines, including materials science and biotechnology. Chemical information, including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings and technical papers.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar.
- bioRxivbioRxiv is a preprint server for biology. It is an online archive for unpublished preprints in the biological and life sciences and related research areas, including bioengineering, genetics, genomics, molecular medicine, neuroscience, scientific communication and synthetic biology.
- More Article & Research DatabasesLinks to hundreds of databases in all subject areas. Most are UW restricted.
Quick Tips
* In article databases, look for the "Check for Full Text" icon. You will be led either to the online version of the article or to a document request form.: 
The UW Libraries' document delivery service will send you a copy free of charge if it's not available online.
* Customize PubMed to show UW full-text links by modifying settings in your My NCBI account. Use My NCBI to save searches, search results, PubMed preferences, and for creating automatic email alerts.
Using GoogleScholar
Google Scholar can be easily configured to tell you which of your search results can be accessed for free via the UW Libraries, and will even provide a direct link to the resource in the catalog.
Searching Guides
- PubMed at the UWGuide to using PubMed
- Inspec on Engineering VillageInspec search help from the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology).
Conference Proceedings
Conference papers & conference proceedings can be tricky to locate. Check out tips for finding engineering conference papers & proceedings HERE.