Skip to main content
Research Guides

Chinese Studies: Instruction & Consultation

A research guide for Chinese study materials at the University of Washington Libraries

Introduction to Chinese Studies E-Resources: Fall 2019

Hi, Everyone

Welcome back to our workshop series!

The East Asia Library is pleased to announce the schedule for one-hour sessions to teach basic skills to search Chinese studies databases and other e-resources. Each session will include an introduction to the database, basic searching strategies, and hands-on practice of searching the database. It will be held in both English and Mandarin, in order to explain certain concepts. Please come and join us!


Time:           Tuesdays, 3:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Location:     Seminar Room, East Asia Library, 322 Gowen Hall
Instructors:  Cynthia Tsotsohy@uw.eduRainbow Huang, huangc34@uw.edu
                    Winnie Wangwinnie93@uw.edu (Chinese Studies Assistants) 
                    Zhijia Shen, zhijia@uw.edu (Director of East Asia Library/Chinese Studies Librarian)
Please refer to the flyer for the schedule and notice the announcement the week before for any changes.

 


General Outline:

1. Introduction to a database
  Content
  Features
  Sources
  Years, etc.

2. Access to the database
  Different ways to access

3. Search functions (various types) with examples (interactive)
  Basic/Quick search, advanced search, professional search, etc.
  Single database search and cross-database search
  Navigation by the table of contents
  Expanded search through references, citations, etc.
  Other functions (preview, download, my library, etc.)

4. Q & A

Research Consultation

The library provides students research consultations on topic development, search strategies, citation tools, etc. We welcome you to contact us and make an appointment.


East Asia & Chinese Studies Librarian

  • Zhijia Shen zhijia@uw.edu

Chinese Studies GSA

  • Cynthia Tso tsohy@uw.edu
  • Rainbow Huang huangc34@uw.edu
  • Winnie Wang winnie93@uw.edu