Skip to Main Content
Web links and print journals in the UW Libraries which present a wide
variety of views on many current issues. The links and journals
themselves do not represent a particular perspective.
- Political Advocacy Groups
This site maintains an alphabetical list and subject lists of all national "cause lobbyist" groups. Provides descriptions of each advocacy group and contact information.
- Politics on the Web This site is maintained by the Government Publications Section, University of Washington Libraries. It is an excellent entry into official government sites and information, as well as many political sites that contribute to government policy.
- Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda, a nonpartisan, nonprofit research organization, is devoted to public opinion, policy analysis, and citizen education. The site provides eighteen issue guides that cover topics such as crime, education, environment, immigration, and welfare.
Materials in the UW Libraries
- CQ Researcher
weekly focuses research on a specific topic, provides objective,
in-depth coverage of issues, and also includes presentations of
- CQ Weekly (Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report)
This journal provides very thorough coverage of action in the U.S.
Congress. Floor debates, legislation under review, hearings, voting
records: if it is done in Congress, it is reported here
- The Economist
One of the preeminent international news weeklies, The Economist brings a global perspective to major issues.
- Editorials on File
This print resource selects and reprints editorials and opinion pieces
from major U.S. news sources and organizes them so that opposing views
on hot issues are presented together. Updated regularly.
- National Journal
One of the country's best known non-partison magazines, this
weekly covers politics and policy with a special emphasis on the executive
- New Perspective Quarterly: NPQ
Published by the Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions, the
journal organizes each issue around a central theme. The theme is then
examined by a diverse group of scholars and well known authorities.
NPQ is highly regarded by most media experts as providing one of
the most reliable, interesting and fair-minded forums of political
Newsweek, one of the three standard news weeklies published in
attempts to report the major political, social and cultural stories of
the day in a nonpartisan manner. Its strong suit is graphics,
particularly its photographs.
The second of the popular news weeklies, Time
attempts to be "free
consistent tendency by presenting varied and occasionally conflicting
points of view. Sidebars reporting an alternative perspective are
sometimes published along side major articles.
- U.S. News and World Report
Considered by some to be the most objective of the three major news
weeklies in the U.S., this periodical attempts to publish more
in-depth, thoughtful reporting than its direct competition.