Skip to Main Content

bullhorn iconOdegaard Library and Research Commons have extended hours through December 16. All Libraries will be closed for winter break. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries Operations Updates

Research Guides

AFRAM 272 History of the South Since the Civil War: Film Reviews

Brukab Sisay - Autumn 2020

Start here to find film reviews

You can use the resources found on this page to identify and locate film/movie reviews.  Do remember that many of the digital resources are UW-restricted: only current faculty, students, and staff can access them from off-campus. The UW Restricted icon identifies those resources. Make sure that you login to your UW NetID when not on campus.

  • American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog UW Restricted
    National filmography for American films, AFI includes trade journal film reviews from the silent era up to 1971.
    Tip: Use the Advanced Search feature. You can search by keyword, film title, director, etc.
     
  • FIAF International Filmarchive Database UW Restricted
    Includes reviews of films and television shows. Indexes articles in approximately 1500 scholarly and general interest periodicals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes full text of some articles. Good for finding film reviews.
    Tip: From the search screen, click, Edit Limits. On the Edit Limits screen, find Article Type and click the box next to it, then click, the Customize Limits button. On the search screen enter movie title and choose Review under Article Type, then search for the movie title. Access to this resource ends October 31, 2020.
     
  • Film & Television Literature Index Full-text UW Restricted
    Articles on film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting & more.
     
  • Film Index InternationaUW Restricted
    Index of films, biographical information, film prizes and awards, and article citations, 1900 to present.
     
  • Cinema Studies Research Guide
    This guide highlights recommended resources for research in Cinema Studies.
     

More Film Review Sources

  • Electronic/Digital

Find Streaming Media Collections by Subject