Research Guides
AFRAM 272 History of the South Since the Civil War: Background Resources
Brukab Sisay - Autumn 2020
UW Libraries Search
Advanced Search | FAQ | Known Issues
FAQ for using UW Libraries Search to identify eResources.
Useful Tools
Selected sources that provide access to topical background information.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources and historical newspapers and other primary sources on the Black experience from ancient past to present day. - Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video collection includes documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage - Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of classic and contemporary ethnographic documentaries
- Primary Sources: African AmericanA research guide to primary and secondary sources for African American history.
Tip: Primary sources are firsthand, original, uninterpreted information. Depending upon the context, these may include paintings, interviews, works of fiction, research reports, sales receipts, speeches, treaties, legislation, letters, e-mails, and more.
Background and Encyclopedic Sources
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference content, primary documents, and media illustrating the history and culture of the African American community - Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History
- This link opens in a new window
Surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. - Encyclopedia of World Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
This reference source provides historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture. The electronic version is [UW restricted].
- Encyclopedia of Black studies
- This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent. - Gale eBooksSpecial encyclopedias, handbooks, and other background sources covering all subjects.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 70 dictionaries and encyclopedias covering all subjects - Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias, primary sources and other works depicting popular culture of the 20th century - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, annotated listing of the most important and significant sources on social sciences and humanities subjects.
Find Streaming Media
Find eMedia resources (documentaries, films, movies, sound recordings) by subject.