The UN iLibrary is a new database that provides a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
The UW Libraries currently have access to a trial version of the database and are considering subscribing to the resource once the trial period ends. Send comments and feedback to Kian Flynn, email@example.com.
The official UN website; use for information relating to any aspect of the UN.
The United Nations (UN) was founded after WWII by 51 countries "committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights." The UN's activities include:
The UN and its affiliated organizations are also involved in:
Promoting human rights and gender equality and the advancement of women
Protecting the environment
Fighting disease--especially AIDS
Defining standards for safe and efficient air travel
"The UN Documentation Research Guide presents an overview of selected UN documents, publications, databases and websites. It provides details on the patterns of documentation of the active principal UN organs. It presents documentation of the organs and subsidiary bodies involved in areas of interest to many researchers."
Search and download data from UN statistical databases. Useful features include country profiles, advanced searching, and glossaries. Databases are organized by theme (Crime, HIV/AIDS, Population, Tourism...).
Compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems, as well as facilitating the coordination of international statistical activities and supporting the functioning of the UN Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.
The Digital Library provides access to UN-produced content including UN documents and publications and information about UN materials in our collections (metadata). More info about scope of the UNDL can be found here.
FULL TEXT of UN documents. All types of of official UN documentation from 1993-present (older documents are added daily). Resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946-present. Press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information are not available. [FULL TEXT]
The UN Archives Geneva platform gives access to the fonds and collections managed by the United Nations Library and Archives in Geneva, including the archives of the United Nations in Geneva, the League of Nations (1919-1946), international peace movements (from 1870), and private papers.
Statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Special topics issues include economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others. Collection from national statistical authorities from 1948-present.
Information on treaty actions (signatures, ratifications, accessions, denunciations, miscellaneous notifications, reservations, declarations and objections) undertaken relating to the multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General covered up to April 1, 2009.
1946-present; includes records of meetings [including plenary meetings], annexes to those records, supplements, certain documents specifically identified as Official Records, the List of Delegations and the Check List of Documents