Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries Operations Updates
Maps as Sources
Maps provide information you can't always get from a text source. Maps
symbolize a particular place at a particular time. It is important to
keep in mind that maps are not a mirror of reality -- the creator of a
map chooses what to include and how to depict a certain place within the conventions of
the cartography of the times.
Help:Making Sense of Maps
Image: Detail of a map of Japan Town ca. 1925
How Do I Cite Data & Maps?
Printed maps can be found in the Map Library located on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library. Doing a Keyword search in the UW Libraries Search is the best way to find maps within the Collection.
The Map Collection has original copies of pre-1960 maps as well as a collection of historical atlases. For information see their description of Historic Maps.
The Map Library also has an extensive collection of aerial photographs of the region from 1944 to the present. The Aerial Photo Project Tool can help you identify photos within the Map Collection's holdings.
FIMo: Fire Insurance Maps Online
Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information
Digitized collection of state maps
Seattle Dept. of Planning & Development GIS
Interactive, online map viewer for Seattle. Map layers include: contours, building outlines, parcels, environmental data, zoning, etc.
King County Election Maps
Current precinct and school district maps
King County Road Services Map Vault
Database of scanned images, including road construction plans, road establishment documents, survey drawings, and 1936 aerial photographs
List of Kroll business atlases for various cities in the state; atlases are housed in Special Collections
List of county maps from the first half of the 20th century; maps are housed in Special Collections
Create maps and tables of demographic, business, and marketing variables. (Formerly known as SimplyMap.)