Skip to Main Content
Research Guides


The World Bank Group* (WBG) has five branches:

  • International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD)
  • International Development Institution (IDA)
  • International Finance Corporation (IFC)
  • Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA)
  • International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)

The World Bank* is made up of the IBRD and the IDA--two development institutions owned by the 189 member countries.  The World Bank offers financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.  The World Bank Group works as a unit to provide low-interest loans, interest-free credits and grants to developing countries. 

*World Bank refers to the IBRD and the IDA, World Bank Group refers to all five institutions collectively, or as a single unit. 

You can expect to find the following types of publications from the World Bank Group:

Core Resources

World Bank

The world bank group logo: an abstracted globe in black and white. 

World Bank Group

"Working for a World Free of Poverty."

Starting Points