Research Guides
HSTRY 388: How to Write the History of the Aztecs: Background Info
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings. Both print and online encyclopedias are listed below.
Two online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online.
Quick Info: Encyclopedias
- Conflict in the early Americas : an encyclopedia of the Spanish Empire's Aztec, Incan, and Mayan conquests
This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Ancient Maya
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Spanish Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
More In-Depth Context
- Aztecs: a very short introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Mexican History and Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Early civilizations in the Americas reference library
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology
- This link opens in a new window
- Iberian World
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Latin American History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Archaeology
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Slavery in the Americas - Mexico and Central America
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Aztecs
- This link opens in a new window