Skip to Main Content
United States & Canada
Herbaria listed below provide free access to scanned specimens
University of Washington Herbarium
The University of Washington Herbarium (also known as WTU) is an international resource for research into the diversity, distribution and ecology of Pacific Northwest vascular plants, non-vascular plants, fungi, lichen, and algae. With over 600,000 specimens currently in the collections and between 5,000-10,000 specimens added annually, WTU is one of the largest herbaria in the region.
Consortium of Pacific Northwest Herbaria
2,415,681 specimen records and 818,876 images from 33 herbaria in Alaska, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington and the Yukon Territory. Includes the University of Washington herbarium.
University of British Columbia
The University of British Columbia Herbarium is the largest in Canada west of Ottawa, and is home to over half a million plant specimens from around the world. The UBC Herbarium has five major collections: vascular plants, bryophytes, macroscopic algae (mostly seaweeds), lichens, and fungi.
Consortium of California Herbaria
Includes the California Academy of Sciences, both the University & Jepson Herbaria at UC Berkeley, and herbaria at Santa Barbara & Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Gardens.
University of Michigan Herbarium
Includes scanned images of type specimens for vascular plants, algae, bryophytes, fungi and lichens.
Harvard University Herbaria
The Harvard University Herbaria include six collections and more than five million specimens of algae, bryophytes, fungi, and vascular plants. Together they form one of the largest university herbarium collections in the world, and the third largest herbarium in the United States.
United States National Herbarium (Smithsonian)
The United States National Herbarium was founded in 1848, when the first collections were accessioned from the United States Exploring Expedition (50,000 specimens of 10,000 species). Current holdings total 5 million specimens, making this collection among the ten largest in the world representing about 8% of the plant collection resources of the United States. The herbarium is especially rich in type specimens (@110,000).
New York Botanical Garden
The C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium is the gateway to the digitized specimens of the William and Lynda Steere Herbarium. Currently, 2.5 million specimen records and 1.5 million images are available. Every month, about 20,000 new records and images are added.
Missouri Botanical Garden
Tropicos - use Advanced Search for more options.