To find articles on topics in marketing , use one or more of the databases below. Most search strategies look for single topic or a combination of factors - for example, a subject and a region or country. (e.g. marketing channels or market segmentation channels and China)
|Why||for finding specific information on your topic|
|Where||articles can be found in databases and in print--in the form of journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers. To find articles on our website, you can use UW Libraries search and the article databases, research guides,and electronic journals tabs.|
begin by narrowing your search using boolean operators, key terms, and concept mapping
In most databases, if the full text of the article is not readily available, you will see a Check for Full Text button.
Clicking on the button will do one of the following:
a) take you to the article - look for PDF full text,
b) take you to the catalog - click on the link next to Content Available
c) link you to Interlibrary Loan so you can request a copy of the article.
There are several ways go about finding an article via the UW Libraries website. However, the process is easiest when you have the article's citation handy -- which identifies the article's full title, journal, and author name.
Start by searching the article title in quotes in UW Libraries Search.
View the article by choosing “Access Options” and select one of the listed databases.
Once in the database look for OR to access the full text.
Peer-reviewed articles (also know as refereed) go through a process where they are analyzed by experts in a field before publication.
Articles can be scholarly (written and published for an academic audience), yet not go through the peer-review process.
Step 1: Check the peer review status of the JOURNAL.
Search for your title in Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory.
When you find your journal, look for a "referee shirt" symbol. The symbol will appear next to any journal title that is peer reviewed and/or refereed (interchangeable terms).
Step 2: If the JOURNAL is peer reviewed, then assess the ARTICLE.
Is it a full research article? If your article is a short news brief, an editorial, a letter to the editor, or a re-print of a conference proceeding, it is not peer reviewed.