Library Guides: Human Rights: Articles

Quick Search: Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with a selection of articles from both popular and scholarly periodicals. Search here or go to the advanced search.

Other Recommended Starting Points

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers political science, political theory, social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary sociology literature, including policy studies, rural and urban sociology, culture and social structure, economic development, organizational development, and more.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers history of the world from 1450 to the present
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Browse or search current volumes of numerous journals on topics, including Human Rights.

Quick Search: Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

How to access UW Restricted materials in Google Scholar: Before searching in Google Scholar, make sure to install the UW Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet. The bookmarklet lets you log into the proxy without having to browse from the UW Libraries website. More information can be found this webpage: