Middle East History: Get Started
Recommended Reference Collections
If you're looking for some alternatives to Wikipedia, try searching for information in these collections of reference books. You'll be able to check facts and learn context for any number of topics.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of encyclopedias and other references sources.
Middle East
Cities of the Middle East and North Africa: A Historical EncyclopediaUW Tacoma Library Reference
HT147.5 .C58 2007
Entries on 100 cities, most of them from Morocco east to Iran and Turkey south to the Horn of Africa, giving a general description and lists of further reading.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World Available online.
Containing thematic articles on the history and development of Islam, including biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North AfricaUW Tacoma Library Reference
DS43 .E53 2004 v. 1-4
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture: North Africa and the Middle East Available online.
Contains entries on various topics related to popular culture in the Middle East, including Architecture, Art, Fashion & Appearance, Film, Food, and many others.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture Available online.
Offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic WorldAvailable online and in print
UW Tacoma Library Reference
DS35.53 .O96 2009 v. 1-6
An extensive encyclopedia on many aspects of the Muslim world, providing biographies of significant figures, surveys of important historical events, and a wide variety of topics, such as homosexuality.
