Genuine French Corsets, 1906 Mrs. Mary H. Ellis Advertsing Co. From Univerisity of Washington's Digital Collections
Collection of U.S. and Canadian print ads published between 1911 and 1957.
British and American ads; registration required to see larger ads.
Commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s
Ads used during intermission at drive-in movie theatres during the 1950s and early 1960s to encourage people to visit the concession stand.
Images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
Fashion plates from 1806-1914 from some of the leading fashion journals of the times.
Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) archive of current and historical advertising with analysis
Museum of the Moving Image provides ads from every presidential campaign since 1952.
Health-related ads from 1910-1950s
Search for advertisement*
Digital images of a personal collection of packages from the early 20th century.
Communication Studies librarians from colleges and universities around the country recommend advertising reference materials, article databases/indexes, company/industry databases, numerical/statistical databases, web sites, associations/organizations, and journals/trade publications.
Maintained by the University of Iowa library.
Maintained by the University of Texas, this site provides and extensive lists of links to advertising and marketing resources.
In the databases below, you can limit your searches by date or date ranges and to "display ad" under Document Type. You can then use keywords for whatever topic you want to search.
Examples: bathing suit or swimsuit; cars or automobiles.
These magazines are likely to include advertisements which may be discovered by browsing. Many of the magazines from the 19th century are in microfilm (on the Seattle campus in the Microform and Newspaper Collections on the ground floor of Suzzallo) or are part of the American Periodical Series Online . Many 20th century magazines are available in print and may be requested through the UW Libraries Catalog. Keep in mind that illustrated advertisements did not appear until the latter half of the 19th century.