Lower/Upper Mississippi Valley - THIST 456 North American Regions: Mississippi River Valley - Allen - Library Guides at University of Washington Libraries

Lower Mississippi Valley

Formed by the confluence of the Ohio and Upper Mississippi, the Lower Mississippi is defined as the portion of the river downstream from Cairo, IL. It flows through portions of Missouri, Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas, Mississipi, and Louisiana

Kentucky Digital Library
Digital collection that includes photographs, newspapers, oral histories, maps, manuscripts, and more.
LOUISiana Digital Library
A digital library that includes photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more that document the history and culture of Louisiana.
Mississippi Digital Library
A cooperative digital library program for the state, its ultimate aim is to provide access to primary source materials covering a wide range of subject areas from Mississippi museums, archives, libraries, and historical societies.
Missouri Digital Heritage
Includes records from institutions throughout the state of Missouri. These historical resources include documents, photographs, maps and more.
University of Missouri Digital Library
Text and images from the UM collections including historic books and newspapers.

Upper Mississippi

The Upper Mississippi comprises 914 miles (1,471 kilometers) from St. Anthony Falls, Minnesota, to the confluence with the Ohio River at Cairo, Illinois. It flows through portions of Missouri, Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin and Minnesota.

CARLI Digital Collections
Digitized manuscript materials, images, and sound recordings from a consortium of Illinois libraries.
First American West: The Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820
Original historical material from the Library of Congress documenting the land, peoples, exploration, and transformation of the trans-Appalachian West. It includes books, periodicals, newspapers, pamphlets, scientific publications, broadsides, letters, journals, legal documents, ledgers and other financial records, maps, physical artifacts, and pictorial images.
Illinois Harvest
A portal for a wide range of materials relating to Illinois and Illinois history.
Iowa Heritage Digital Collections
Digitized collections of newspapers, images, documents etc. from Iowa libraries and museums.
Minnesota Historical Society Visual Resources Database
Over 100,000 images of posters, photographs, and artworks related to Minnesota.
Minnesota Reflections
45,000 images and documents from Minnesota historical societies, museums, and libraries.
Missouri Digital Heritage
Includes records from institutions throughout the state of Missouri. These historical resources include documents, photographs, maps and more.
Pioneering the Upper Midwest: Books from Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin, 1820-1910
First-person accounts, biographies, promotional literature, local histories, ethnographic and antiquarian texts from the Library of Congress that depict the land and its resources; the conflicts between settlers and Native peoples; the experience of pioneers and missionaries, soldiers and immigrants and reformers.
University of Missouri Digital Library
Text and images from the UM collections including historic books and newspapers.
Upper Mississippi Valley Digital Image Archive
Digitized historic images showcasing the Mississippi River region along the Illinois/Iowa border.

Ask a Librarian

THIST 456 North American Regions: Mississippi River Valley - Allen: Lower/Upper Mississippi Valley

Lower Mississippi Valley

Upper Mississippi