Geosciences: Geology Resources

"This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation."

A web portal for geochemical data of rocks (primarily igneous). Search by keyword, location, geologic province, ocean feature, sample type, chemistry, material and more.

Earthref.org offers a variety of geoscience databases. Examples include EarthRef Digital Archive: contains data objects ranging from data tables to maps and videos. GERM Reservoir Database: contains summary data on the geochemistry of all reservoirs in the Earth. Paleomagnetic Database: online portal to paleomagnetic and rock magnetic data. Partition Coefficients: Kd's database contains partition coefficient data for all types of rocks and minerals

"The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work."

IRIS is a consortium of over 100 US universities dedicated to the operation of science facilities for the acquisition, management, and distribution of seismological data. Includes links to seismic monitor, wave visualizations and event data.

"The collection provides a look at both the human and the scientific sides of studying the eruption of a volcano. The slides were taken by Professor William Zoller, Professor of Chemistry, University of Washington, over a period of three years during research trips with his team to study the chemistry and impacts of the 1980 eruption of Mount Saint Helens. His group was the first allowed in after the initial eruption."

A collection of high-resolution topography data and tools from the UC San Diego Supercomputer Center.

Public domain high-resolution topography for the Pacific Northwest.

Select a time period from the Archean to the Triassic for a quick view of a geological time scale.

"The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information."